Ratings based on 1,108 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent UK

Weekend break

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A quiet hotel, but near to the centre. 10 minute walk to the Train station and near to good restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. Our room was small but with all that was needed. I would stay here again. Note to travellers if you like a drink don't go to Oslo, a pint of beer was on average £10 a pint and I purchased a single whiskey which was 19.00! Food is more expensive than the UK, the Average main meal was about £18. On the whole a beautiful city with plenty to see and do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Was well looked after

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Great holiday thanks to the Scandic Holberg hotel experience. Rception was very friendly and helpful especially Linda; breakfast was impressive and had a great spread of fresh produce. Rooms were cosy and the entertainment channels on TV were great watching most of the premier league and La liga games live... Really happy with the whole experience, thank you! PS. I spent most of my time skiing, sledging and hiking at Tryvann ski resort next to Frognerseteren.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing! Free soup in the evening during the week was a nice touch. Well placed for sight seeing. Our only criticism would be that the furnishing of the rooms was a bit lacking - no drawers, no tea making facilities as promised - but overall, comfortable and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Carpet, paint, decor...
Dirty, run down, one iron in the entire building...breakfast and location are good, hotel is poor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, quieter than centre of town

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
I liked this hotel although there was only one small lift (always busy) and the corridors had an unpleasant musty smell. Ask for a quiet room so that you don't hear the trams go past all the time. Ours was a 5th floor room facing into other parts of the hotel and was quiet except for the early morning glass bottle disposal (previous reviews mention this). There were interesting wooden beams in the room and the bathroom. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room but you can get a drink at reception. The woman on reception was very friendly and helpful. We asked where she recommended to eat nearby and she told us three restaurants that we could get a 20% discount with by showing our room card - we recommend the Spanish tapas. There is also no safe in the room, which was mildly irritating but not a problem as reception looked after valuables. The breakfast had a great variety of items and was very tasty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for weekend trip

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
A good moderately priced hotel in great location ( airport bus drops right outside) less than 5 mins from palace and 10 to city centre, was ideal for my weekend trip to Oslo. Also included a varied and full buffet breakfast. Helpful and friendly multilingual reception staff. Could not fault it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Exmoor

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: The hairdryer cut out after a few minutes, probably overheating
Location: The hotel is a short walk from the waterside and all the bars, cafes and restaurants, also the Palace
Scandic Holberg is a very nice hotel in a quiet, open location, very convenient for the bus from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and very centrally located hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenient located behind the Royal Castle with 5 min. walking distance to the National Theatre, free bicycles for the hotel guests and clean rooms.
Cons: Not so "noisy" air conditioning.
Location: The hotel is located behind the Royal Castle, (bus service to the airport 1 min. walk) and 5 min. walk to trains.
1. Very centrally located with tram lines outside the hotel. 2. Friendly and helpful hotel employees. 3. Free usage of bicycles (first come, first served basis). 4. Hotel run in a historical building by a respectable Scandinavian hotel chain (Scandic Hotels). 5. Good breakfast included in price.