Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing! Free soup in the evening during the week was a nice touch. Well placed for sight seeing. Our only criticism would be that the furnishing of the rooms was a bit lacking - no drawers, no tea making facilities as promised - but overall, comfortable and reasonably priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Carpet, paint, decor...
Dirty, run down, one iron in the entire building...breakfast and location are good, hotel is poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Exmoor

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: The hairdryer cut out after a few minutes, probably overheating
Location: The hotel is a short walk from the waterside and all the bars, cafes and restaurants, also the Palace
Scandic Holberg is a very nice hotel in a quiet, open location, very convenient for the bus from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A decsent hoyel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I liked their breakfast and location. Good WiFi, pleasant personnel and they also have bikes you can use for free. The room was a little small but comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Hotel close to maim attractions and transportation

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Location is great close to the main attractions and with very good transportation. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Price was very good !
Location: Royal Palace, Karl Johans gate, History museum, Nobel Peace Centre, National Gallery. There are several restaurants around and a grocery store.
I arrive at 10am and there was a room available so I could check in early. The lady in the reception was very nice and always willing to help as much as she could. The hotel is clean and comfortable. There is a breakfast buffet with a very good selection. This is a hotel close to main attractions (Royal Palace, History museum, Nobel Peace Center, etc.). The bus stop (Flybuss) from and to the airport is 2 minutes walking, you only have to cross the street. Also if you are planning to go to the Viking museum ,the buses, train, and the ferry are 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I left my luggage in the storage room when I checked out so I could tour the city more until it was time to go to the airport. There are restaurants around but also if you are in a budget trip, there is a REMA grocery store 2 blocks away with very good prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton, Colorado

Nice hotel close to center of city

Posted Aug 18, 2016
I often have trouble sleeping. My room was not on the street side of the building so it was quiet. Room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amelia Island, FL

Good value in Oslo

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Staff was very helpful. Included breakfast was excellent. Room was adequate but too warm (this was August). Only overly warm comforters on bed. Bathroom was clean and functional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, well located basic hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The hotel is in a good location, close to easy tram or walking distance to city centre and waterfront. The hotel was very clean and comfortable but quite basic. The main reception rooms had been updated but bedroom decor and furniture is tired, no room safe/tea or coffee or air con in rooms. The Ensuite in our room had been updated. This was our 3rd city hotel of our touring holiday and we missed little things we had got used to in other hotels, eg playing cards or board games available for use in the bar. There are a couple of Italian restaurants nearby. The breakfast selection was limited compared to our previous hotels, kids were disappointed at lack of croissant / pastries. Overall clean, quiet but in need of a redecorate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Room fridge was broken but the free breakfast was fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough, UK

Excellent centrally-located hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The Scandic Holberg proved to be a comfortable and very accessible base during my cousin and I's stay in Oslo. Located right in the middle of the city, within minutes walking distance of the Royal Palace, the National Gallery and the Historic Museum, it is well served by a nearby tram stop and can be easily reached from the train station should you arrive from there. The staff proved to be very friendly and helpful (and with impeccable English to boot) and we found the small gift shop stocked with essentials a pleasant surprise. The breakfasts were just what we needed to get us going in the mornings, and the shower in our bathroom was very powerful and freshened us up. There was also a plentiful supply of shampoo, shower gel and hand soap, more than I've had in any other hotel. Our room even came with a small balcony! A minor quibble would be that if you have a room at the front of the building, due to its location downtown there is some noise from trams, which continue throughout the night and may prove troublesome for light sleepers. That said, the traffic is generally very light (especially for a capital city), so there won't be long traffic jams clogging the intersection each day. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel very highly to any Oslo-bound travellers, as a smart and comfortable option with good access to public transport and plenty of amenities.