Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Hotel to the west of the centre good location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Reception staff were really helpful, the waiting staff for breakfast seemed stressed and came across rude to some of those staying. The breakfast was great, lots of choice. The room we stayed in (queen bed) was clean and modern, but it was tiny. The hotel was near to the palace and to the west harbour. It was a 30 minute walk from the bus terminal etc. The walk was pleasant though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Tine , Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you find the reception staff helpfull, but will follow up on what you said about the staff during breakfast hours, I am sorry about this. The Queen-economy rooms are the smallest rooms we have. I hope you will stay here again and try our standard rooms which are significantly larger and you can booke these for only NOK 100 extra per night. I am not sure what you ment with the bus stop, as we have a combined bus and tram stop only a 2 minute walk from the hotel (name of the bus stop: Solli Plass). The central station however is a little further away :-) Kind regards, Tine in the reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from york uk

Short business stay

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Corridors and stairs are a bit grim.
All fine - ok for a couple of days but room a bit small. Convenient position. Helpful staff Really good breakfast included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by KB, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that they have received poor inntryk of our service, we are working hard to create good hotel experience to all our customers, contact us if there is anything you want to discuss directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Great location, very close to city. Big and clean room. A lovely breakfast. Defiantly will stay again in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Kb, Hotel Management
Takk for at du bestilte overnatting via oss. Vi jobber hardt for at kundene våre skal bli fornøyd og setter pris på tilbakemeldingen din
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Central Oslo

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet was terrific . Location is great. Staff was fluent in English and helpful. We had a family room with two rooms and large bath.
Cons: Bathroom could use more hooks for towels. There seemed to be a missing wall unit in the hall and the room had limited closet space.
Location: Museums, government buildings, harbor, shopping, restaurants and tours all in walking distance.
We drove into the city late to spend one day and two nights. Hotel is close walking distance to restaurants and major attractions, palace, city hall, museums, fortress. We were able to do most of the city center in a day walking. Hotel had limited parking which was full. We were fortunate that we were there on Sunday and could park on the street overnight late and full day free. Hotel caters to tours and is very busy but our room was quiet, but no view at all. Bath had heated floor and rooms had windows that opened which is great for ventilation. City Hall is amazing and worth the visit as was the sculpture garden but that required a drive or tour. Viking and ship museums would have required a boat taxi or car to get to and we did not have time to visit. Some attractions are closed weekends (paliament) or museums on Monday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast, reasonable price

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Added benefit was that we could put four adults in room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel nicely located with problems.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
A room in the front of the hotel means you will hear a very loud bar on Friday/Saturday night. The cleaning staff do not replace towels, toilet paper, Kleenex unless requested at the desk. Room too hot, only a too warm duvet for bed covers. Ask the desk for a fan. Restaurant with very limited menu. Hotel is near train to airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, England

Nothing special.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Sadly this hotel was a disappointment. The good bits were the staff, breakfast and our bathroom! We booked a standard room and naively expected a tea/coffee tray and more than just four clothes hangers on a wall mounted rack. The room was tiny and lack of storage was a big problem to us as we were staying for 5 nights and attending a wedding. Most of our clothing had to be kept in our cases under the bed. We asked for a kettle and tea/coffee which was delivered straight away but not replenished. Our room looked out over the hotel entrance which hosted a near constant stream of guests, day and night, arriving by coach so the noise was very disturbing. The general cleanliness wasn't great either. I'm sorry to say that we could not recommended Scandic Solli.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location in Oslo.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast, the bar.
Cons: Please remind the staff that they are working with people. The breakfast included the works but the presentation was awful. Learn from Clarion Savoy!!
Location: Close to the Royal Castle, Aker Brygge, Karl Johan street, shopping, U.S Embassy and walking distance to most interesting places in downtown Oslo.
The Scandic Solli hotel is located close to Aker Brygge and walking distance to the Royal Castle, U.S Embassy, downtown, Karl Johan gate and all the action. The hotel is an okay hotel with okay food but the front desk staff are extremely bored and not at all service minded. Not a smile, not a greeting as you would expect in a hotel. Instead the staff look away when customers are approaching the front desk. Disappointing but a reality at this hotel. The rooms are decent and clean. During our stay we woke upp very morning at 8 am when the construction workers started drilling and hammering outside our room. No alarm clock needed :-(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ok for one night

Posted May 31, 2015
Good location, friendly reception staff, breakfast area was crazy busy with hardly any seating space. Room was on the smaller side, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington DC, USA

Nice hotel, helpful staff, excellent breakfast!

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Best breakfast buffet ever. Everything you could ever want, except for the appalling coffee.
Cons: Oslo has great coffee culture - there is no excuse for such poor, vending machine fare.
Location: Near the national theater train station, the US Embassy, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
I was in Oslo for just 2 nights for work, chose the hotel because it was easily accessible by train from the airport, and walking distance from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. It was an excellent choice - good food, nice rooms, plenty of space to work in the lobby with free wifi, good light and outlets; the staff were very helpful, printed a few pages for me at no charge.