Ratings based on 2,240 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facility, great staff

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The staff went out of their way to be helpful throughout our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very Centrally located

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Close to the water and the main shopping street. Can walk to everything, otherwise buses and trams nearby.
It is a 4 star hotel and has all the basics. No luxuries. It was clean, bed comfortable, showers hot. Our room looked into a central well over the dinning room and lacked a lot of natural light. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices. The location is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel central to everything

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Everything comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to trains, trams, buses, the marina , shops
On arrival the hotel room wasn't to our satisfaction , this was immediately changed , cannot fault our stay, excellent friendly staff, nice breakfast , comfortable room wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location for Oslo sightseeing

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The young, friendly and very helpful staff. The spacious, comfortable rooms. Taxis bookable very simply (on-line) from the lobby arriving punctually
Cons: A few extras in the rooms such as shower caps and bath mats
This pleasant hotel (used primarily by business people) is in an excellent location for tourists to see Oslo, being a short walk away from the harbour-side for boat travel and with excellent bus and tram facilities very close by. Located in a central area, near to the Parliament building and a central square filled with flowers and lilac trees, this hotel provided everything we needed for a short, first-time visit to Oslo. Whilst the hotel is a little lacking in "frills" (no porter, no restaurant for lunch, no mid-day bar etc.) the buffet breakfast was very good and the young staff - who all spoke excellent English as do many Norwegians - were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a good size and comfortably furnished if, again, a little basic - for example, no bath mat for when you get out of the shower!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Great hotel in ideal location for site seeing.

Posted May 21, 2017
This hotel was perfect for our 5 day sight seeing trip, very close to the ferry to the museums, brilliant tram service 3 minute walk, 3 minutes to lots of good (average to dear) restaurants and only 3 tram stops or a 150 NOR (£14) taxi from Oslo Central station. Only slight quibble is that I had to ask for more coffee, sugar and creamer as room service didn't refill daily. Perfect hotel for siteseeing (avoid the red hop on site seeing bus, poor value, just get the oslo pass from the airport). Staff were good, breakfast fantastic. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel close to many landmarks

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: There was little, and to my eyes nothing not to like.
Location: Far too much for 150 characters Oslo is a magical place and this hotel is within walking distance of plenty
The staff at the Scandic were very helpful and always polite even when they had to deal with a bumbling Englishman. Breakfast was varied in choice and in my opinion faultless. A good large shower. The courteous staff were kind enough to charge my phone behind reception when I was daft enough to forget an adapter. And one showed me how to correctly operate a waffle iron, I'm sure it seems simple to some but I was rather flummoxed. And within easy walking distance of the parliament building, the city hall, the royal palace and the docks. Slightly further away is an old fort and the resistance museum, I urge anyone who is in Oslo to visit the resistance museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect spot

Posted Apr 21, 2017
If you're looking for a convenient place, just a stroll away from the train station and close to some of the main attractions in Oslo, this is perfect.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in the city.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location, room & breakfast (except the last day) were perfect for a city visit.
Cons: As mentioned above, the breakfast incident of cleaning up before the designated hour of breakfast serving.
Location: All museums, tourist attractions are within walking distance!
The room is fair size & comfortable. Good size bathroom with nice shower & plenty of counter space, although the lighting is not great for putting on make-up. Breakfast came with our room price and was excellent the 1st two mornings, we were so pleased with it we invited our daughter & boy friend to join us on the 3rd day. We paid for them to dine with us, a price that we felt was very expensive for breakfast. We met at 10:30 to eat, breakfast was to be served until 11:00 but they started to clean the station as we ate. Fruit wasn't replaced, no scrambled eggs & we felt hurried. We do releaize it was Good Friday so perhaps they were in a hurry to get their work day finished but I can assure you that it influenced our once high opinion of the hotel. Also the manager or head staff person who had been very polite & hospitable other days asked me if I had paid for them to join us in front of them, which I felt was unprofessional and embarrassed me. It was a treat for the university kids who had little extra money but then felt bad for su spending so much money on breakfast for them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels