Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel with good location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Good basic hotel located close to many of Oslo's attractions including the Opera House and the National Gallery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: very clean, super breakfast and very excellent staff
Very clean hotel , close to shops and museums and tourist areas. I was disappointment with the size of the room , not privacy of you traveling with kids and the price too high for the size of the room. Breakfast was the best ever seen, huge selection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel in Oslo - Rude, unprofessional staff

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
The Thon Hotel chain used to have a better reputation, but the people working there do not value customers. The front desk staff act irritated and resentful of any request. The manager in turn does not act happy or grateful that you've chosen to stay there. In fact, she thinks nothing of raising her voice to guests. The exchanges I had were totally unprofessional. I would NEVER book this hotel again, or recommend it to anyone, especially not for business travel. This is the second time I've stayed there, and it will be the last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, United States of America

Great location, excellent breakfast

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Double room is a bit small. Interesting setup of a hotel with internal atrium, no external windows. Thus clean and quiet but could feel claustrophobic after some time. Very lavish breakfast, way more than continental that was advertised. Since we left early, they gave us a brown bag breakfast which was quite adequate. Perfect location near natl theatret station of express train from oslo airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati, ohio - US

Oslo is awesome.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Thon Hotel Cecil ..Great location. The staff is amazing, very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The staff all around were excellent, especially the front desk.
Cons: The free breakfast. But probably because I am an American and would like different options. I didn't care for much they put out. But quality was good.
Arrived late one night. Very helpful directing me immediately as to where I could get something to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basel, switzerland

Center city hotel with great breakfast

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Orbitz
The hotel was in a central location where we could visit all of Oslo easily. The front desk staff greeted us warmly every time we walked through the lobby. The breakfast buffet was fantastic which helped us start the day off right.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Location for Reasonable Price

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Great location and very nice breakfast buffet included. Smallish room but very well designed. Light and modern. Windows that open!
Cons: Lobby furniture is rather tawdry.
Location: A block from the harbor and a short walk to parks and museums. Fantastic location.
Brief stay in the heart of Oslo. Hotel was just what I needed to be near major sights. Central but also quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Fantastic

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Brilliant location, great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Definately recommend.