Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Excellent value, ideal location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Can't say enough about this hotel. For the price, it's an absolute gem! You could not possibly find a more convenient location - it's literally just outside the Oslo central station, and immediately across the street from the start of the walk to Karl Johans gate. You can also see the opera house from inside the glass elevators in the lobby, it's that close! Our room was really nicely decorated, and very well laid out to maximize the small space. I was in LOVE with the nice deep bath! Great water pressure and nice hot water temps too. And the bed - ugh, that bed was SO comfortable. I slept like a coma patient! We selected a view room, and had a very nice view looking back toward the train station. Lastly - the included breakfast was an absolute delight. It was HUGE! Many hot stations with made to order items and just an outstanding assortment of breads, fruit, cheese, smoked meats and fish, and cereals, just to name a few items. I was so impressed with the breakfast! We loved this hotel so much that we just canceled our next stay in Oslo and booked a second stay at this hotel. What more can I say?? We really loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Feb 8, 2017
excellent hotel close to the train station and city center. Great breakfast - everything you might want for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Marius L, Hotel Management
Dear Les, thank you for your top rating and kind words about your stay with us. I’m pleased to read that you have found everything you were wishing for breakfast, and that our location has been convenient for your visit. I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to us at Thon Hotel Opera soon again. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great hotel, close to central train station

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Everyrthing
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walked to the Opera, and to the city centre, great location for restaurants and shops
Great hotel, vibrant colour scheme, spectacular breakfast, walking distance to everything, friendly staff, lovely room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by MariusL, Hotel Management
Dear Deb, thank you for your top rating and kind words. I’m pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay , that our breakfast has been tasteful and our colors vibrant. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera on a later occasion. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel Choice

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Close to the train. Comfortable and clean rooms. Wonderful breakfast buffet. I would 100% stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Alexander Killi, Congress Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am glad to hear you found the rooms clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Opera in the near future! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close everything

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel was great. From check in to check out. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was well worth it. I highly recommend the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Marius L, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your top rating and kind words. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff has been friendly. Thank you for you kind words about our rooms and breakfast, I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera on a later occasion. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just a minute walk to central station

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was good. Room size was small comparatively with other hotel with same level of price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and comment. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, even though you have found our rooms to be somewhat small. Glad the breakfast was tasteful, and I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a later occasion, maybe in one of our business rooms with a balcony? Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Clean and comfortable hotel in the centre of Oslo

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Central location.
Cons: The layout of the breakfast facilities could have been improved.
Location: All the usual tourist activities easily accessible, by foot or public transport.
Quick and efficient check-in, excellent lifts, comfortable room with walk-in shower. Good breakfasts, the Eufemia bar was welcoming. Positioned approx. 5 minutes walk from the central train station, with incredibly easy access to main-line trains and the city transport (metro, bus, tram). Great views over the fjord and the opera house.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Marius L, Hotel Management
Dear Alec, thank you for your top rating and kind words about our hotel. I’m pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our central location has been convenient for your visit to Oslo. Glad that you have found the breakfast tasteful and our bar welcoming, and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera soon again. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location, tidy room

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Good location just next to Central Station. The room is tidy comes with a smart TV.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your rating and comments. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay and that our location has been convenient for your plans in the city. I do hope we soon will be able to welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good and will use again

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Excellent
Very good I will recommend to others I am hoping to get a better deal in future
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Marius L, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank your for your top rating. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay, and I do look forward to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank your for your rating. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay, and I do hope we might welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion. Kind regards Marius Lilleng, Guest Relations Manager