Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by jenna

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Used this hotel after a long layover and was impressed with the room! Old hotel which dates back to the 1700s. Excellent staff and service!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for just one nigh. Nice historic hotel with good service and great atmosphere. Parts of the hotel is redecorated and parts are not. The bathrooms in the rooms could do with redecoration, but was clean and OK. Also the rooms were to warm due to the warm and sunny weather as it was unusually warm this day.
5 out of 5
by Cathy from Atlanta

GREAT customer service!

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
They were very nice. The room was fine. Easy walk down to the waterfront for relaxing evening. There are no phones in the rooms so wake up calls can be challenging. What was great was that I was leaving very early the next day to catch a flight and they created a breakfast for me the previous evening and then brought it to the room in the morning! That was fantastic.
3 out of 5
by Kjell Tore from Lillestrøm

Historical hotel with affordable prices

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Still have carpet in the bedrooms. The bathroom was tiny and not especially modern. Breakfast was a delight. Friendly hotel staff
3 out of 5
by Sigurtor Holm

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tone from Oslo

Very nice experience in a historic hotel

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
We have a hobby of travelling around visiting the old historic hotels in Norway. This hotel was older than most, but had a sophisticated style from former days. The location is excellent, walking dstance to everything. The rooms were huge and very comfortable. We had a suite and an excecutive double with sitting areas. The rooms were huge. The Furniture needed upgrading, but it ws of course supposed to be "old". The bathroom in the double room was timy With no placfe to set or hang Things, except for that, excellent. The breakfast was great, lots of Things to choose from. The service fantastic and so was the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic experience!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and historic setting. Excellent staff.
Location: Try the superb waterfront restaurants. Go on a day cruise to Stromstad in Sweden. Torp Airport nearby with direct train link.
Rather than regular and dull hotel rooms and facilities, this is a piece of history! warmly welcoming, quaint rooms in an historic building, but with state of the art bathrooms all superbly well kept. Restaurant closed in August, but from past experience the food service and quality is excellent. Try it! This is a piece of history.
4 out of 5
by Laurie from MN

Nice one night stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
Booked two rooms at the Kong Carl for the evening prior to our flight back to the US from TORP: nice hotel, beautiful antiques, excellent breakfast, friendly and efficient service. Just what we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels