Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Leanne from Alexandra

Stay a couple of days to enjoy it all.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Booked for a single nights stay as part of a long drive. Didn't know anything about the town or hotel. Now wished we had stayed longer. Great hotel and really lovely city. Highly recommend both.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport, ME

Our "Go To"

Posted Aug 14, 2016
This is our #1 choice for staying in Fredrikstad. It's comfortable, clean and the location is perfect. We love good food and the town is full of nice places to eat that are a short walk from the hotel - the shopping mall is also close and offers many good stores for all travelers needs. We enjoy the breakfast - their gluten free options are especially good. We like our rooms on an upper floor (4 and above) on the river side. We park in the attached garage - it's best to buy one ticket for your whole stay rather than when you come in each time - we once got a very expensive ticket for being late to renew it - ouch! BUT you really don't need a car to enjoy this lovely little Norwegian city. Super nice people too.
4 out of 5
by steven from Illinois - USA

Family visit to Fredrikstad

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed 3 nights in Fredrikstad visiting family and exploring the region. Our first visit was enjoyable. Great weather and a good room. Plenty of room space, comfortable bed, clean bath describe our room. We opened windows for ventilation during the warm days and evenings of July. The hotel staff were very friendly, answered our questions and provided good service. We especially enjoyed the good breakfast area and variety of foods available for the start to our day. Thanks to all at this hotel for a warm inviting first visit to Fredrikstad. We recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from London

Soulless

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
I'm not given to writing bad reviews, but I found this place rather sterile and lacking in character. I was particularly disappointed by the lack of knowledge displayed by the front desk when I asked how to get to the old town: I was given incorrect information about where to catch the ferry and also about the closing times of cafés and restaurants. This was very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by Carol from Austin, Texas

Cool, Quiet Texans in Need of Cool and Quiet

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
This is a newer facility and seemed to be in good condition. The major complaint from my family is that although it is advertised as air conditioned, IT IS NOT AIR CONDITIONED. Please quit identifying it as such. Thankfully, it was not hot; nonetheless, we are used to sleeping in a room with cool fresh air. To get that, our window had to be open - since our rooms were on the building exterior, our windows opened to the street. It was a Friday night, and the loud singing and yelling from the weekend partiers and squealing tires from the hot rodders resulted in a rather poor quality sleep experience. Bottomline: If the weather is cool, make sure to reserve a room facing into the hotel interior, so an open window will be quieter. If it is hot and you need cool air to rest well, don't stay at this hotel! Staff were pleasant and helpful - if you are traveling by car be sure to get detailed instructions about the parking garage, both in terms of location and how to navigate to and from the interior of the garage and the hotel. Breakfast was a full Norwegian spread. The Peppe's Pizza across from the hotel entrance was great!
4 out of 5
by stephen from portsmouth

Close to the centre of Fredrikstad - Nice hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Close to the centre of town, good food, nice room, very good price - excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice in Frederikstad

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel stay in a nice, accessible part of town.
3 out of 5
by Alberto from Tananger, Norway

We did not get what we were promised

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Booked through Hotels.com, which described the rooms as "all with A/C and safety box". When we arrived (Arendal was going through a heatwave) the room was incredibly hot and when we were looking for the A/C switch (after inserting the room key in the switch slot)...there was NONE! We asked a maintenance lady and she said that in order for the A/C to kick in the lights "must be off" (???). Then we went in reception and pointed out that we booked a room with A/C we were told that the A/C was there but it simply "takes a long time". Well, trying to convince us about the functioning of a non-existent A/C system was too much. In the end we were given a different room (still with no A/C) but in a cooler position (North facing). Please rectify the description of the hotel room and tell their staff that guests "smart enough" to notice whether there's an A/C system or not. Besides: fantastic breakfast!!!
4 out of 5
by Bjorn Sirnes from Fredrikstad

Central- and good location in Fredrikstad

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
Overall good conditions, friendly staff. No negative remarks.