Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, clean, close to the beach, shops and restaurants, free breakfast and shuttle for airport if needed.
Location: Across the street from Ostia beach in Rome. Close to many restaurants, cafes, shops.
I stayed her on my second last day before leaving Rome as its close to the airport. A nice way to relax before heading back home to Toronto. Cute little hotel across the street from Ostia beach close to restaurants and shops. Very convenient, good breakfast which was included for free of charge and also had a shuttle to take me to the airport. Friendly and helpful staff and clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A gem!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Normally we would not consider 2* hotels; 10 days at La Scaletta has completely changed our outlook. This is a jewel of a hotel, right on the seafront at Lido di Ostia, a resort enjoyed by Romans, and about 10 minutes walk from the station for those wanting to visit Ostia Antica or Rome itself. La Scaletta is very comfortable and impeccably clean. It does not offer evening meals but the breakfasts are excellent and there are many good restaurants within walking distance. The staff are professional and delightful and are clearly happy and at ease doing a job which they regard as important. They have found the right formula and they apply it with great care and success.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great views and location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Room had awesome view but could use curtains that completely block out the sun. Noise was minimal despite being located on the street. Incredible views of the sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel located opposite the beach.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Opposite beach & close to railway station & local amenities.
Cons: Noise from McDonald's may be a problem for those who sleep lightly or wish to get an earlier nights sleep for a sightseeing trip next day.
Location: Nice beach. Railway station nearby, handy for trips to Rome. Ostia Antica, Ancient Port of Rome a few miles away. Plenty of bars & restaurants nearby
Nice friendly hotel staff. Sea view rooms lovely by day but noisy during night, until McDonalds closes (3 - 4 am), traffic noise etc. Room to side of hotel quieter but Room 107, directly above McDonalds plagued by compressor noise (runs all night) - a problem for light sleepers, like myself. Located close to rail station, handy for day trips to Rome. Plenty of surrounding bars & restaurants. Watch out for late night thieves who pray on lone tourists!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Comfortable hotel with a view

Posted Aug 2, 2017
It was a nice room with nice balcony. It's a busy spot being over McDonald's which for some reason was a hang out. Room was clean and staff helpful and friendly. Beach was across the street and there were plenty of good restaurants around. Nice location but a little far from sightseeing attractions if that is what you are looking for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Hotel is both close to the airport and the beach.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathrooms need to be larger and the air conditioning needs to be stronger for the number of rooms it is servicing.
Location: Long beach is across the street with numerous restaurants nearby.
The hotel is quaint with an excellent complimentary breakfast, clean rooms yet a small bathroom. The location is great as it is both close to the airport and across the street from the beach. Restaurant and shops are also close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Older hotel, clean with nice staff. The pictures on the internet definitely made it appear a bit newer/nicer than it was in person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, inexpensive

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Small but clean, comfortable, very convenient to Rome airport but also right across the street for a nice beech and some good restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Stefano P., Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your positive feedback, it's the best reward for the efforts we put in doing our job everyday. Hoping to have you our guest in the nearest future, on behalf of the staff of the hotel I wish you all the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

very nice hotel that looks on to the beach

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: the staff , location both great
Cons: room could of been larger for 2 people shareing.....
Location: ideal location.... across the road to the beach.... town center just around the corner exelent restraunts, shops,
great location....... staff would go out of there way to help you...... very clean....... good breakfasts (contenantal)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Orbitz
My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Scaletta due to me wanting to go to the beach one of the days while in Itay. Our hotel view was looking over the water so I was very excited about that. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. There were several restaurants and bars around so we had no trouble finding somewhere to have dinner and drinks. The hotel also held our luggage after check out due to us catching a later flight. Therefore we were able to go hang out at the beach without taking our big packs. They also offered a shuttle to the airport for a reasonable fee. I would recommend staying at Hotel La Scaletta to any of my friends and family and we would definitely stay there again.