Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Chicago

A Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Luna Azul was a wonderful place to stay. Our hosts and their staff were excellent and helpful. We enjoyed the quiet, beautiful surroundings. Our room was very comfortable and lovely. Our balcony faced the ocean. We enjoyed having a restaurant right there. Delicious meals! The unpaved roads are bumpy, so just know this in advance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Exceptional customer service

Posted Feb 6, 2016
The owners, Ralph and Andreas are extremely nice, patient and passionate about their work. They don't go after money but instead go out of their ways to meet your needs. The environment is very nice. We saw monkeys, dragons, etc. A hidden gem!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The owners are travel buffs with some impressive resumes, so don't hesitate to ask for their advice. The food at their restaurant is fantastic! Rent a car and enjoy the crazy roads up and down the coast. There are many great beaches just a short drive away. Driving is like a video game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay at Luna Azul

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at Luna Azul was amazing. Rolf and Andreas, the owners, are probably the nicest hotel owners that have ever set foot on earth. The hotel is impeccably maintained and beautiful, with clean and spacious rooms equipped with a wide terrace overlooking lush vegetation and views of the ocean. Breakfast every morning was truly a treat, and the dinners served at their restaurant can match (and even surpass) the best dinners we had in NYC. Rolf was generous with advice for things to do, including arranging a turtle-seeing tour late at night, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay. In short, this is THE place to stay in in this part of Costa Rica, both for its amenities and owners.
4 out of 5
by Vincent from Paris

Hôtel très agréable à Ostional

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Les chambres sont propres, dans des bungalows et avec une belle terrasse. L'hôtel a une jolie piscine à débordement avec vue sur l'océan pacifque et un lobby très agréable. Propriétaire souriant et plein de bons conseils pour nous dire comment et quand profiter au mieux des arribadas des tortues sur la plage !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Relaxing hotel with wonderful owners

Posted Feb 9, 2015
We stayed 3 nights, had a small view of the beach and a great view of the jungle. Room was comfortable, bed was a little outdated but the deck was huge. The owners are amazing at what to recommend for excursions and made the place feel like home.
5 out of 5
by D.S. from Alkmaar

Tophotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
Alles klopt: prachtig gebouw en tuin gelegen op enkele honderden meters van het strand midden in de jungle; uitstekende service. Echt een tophotel in het topsegment. De weg er naar toe is helaas nog niet gemakkelijk voor de auto en de inzittenden.
5 out of 5
by Martine from Switzerland

Harmony and peace in paradisiac surroundings

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful facilities in a wonderful setting, with a view in the distance of the pacific ocean. Howling monkeys in the trees, frogs in the gardens, and many birds. The roads to access San Juanillo and then the hotel are not paved, and can be bumpy, but this is true of the entire coast in this part of Costa Rica. This is why the nature is also so well preserved and there are no crowds. I was extremely well received by the 2 owners, both from Switzerland. They provided great advice about visits, and organized for a rental car to be brought to me at the hotel. The premises are superbly designed and very well kept, and the swimming pool is delightful. Besides being a great hotel, they have a fantastic restaurant and one eats delicious food every evening. This is very appreciable since the hotel is not really within a very short drive to anywhere except San Juanillo. Distance-wise things are close but because of the roads, driving there takes time. The breakfast is also a delight. I really cannot think of one negative thing to say. It is obvious though, that this is a good place to stay providing one has a car. But even if you arrive without one, as I said, the owners organize a rental for you. I can highly recommend this place. I felt so much at peace that I nearly decided to stay there for my entire time in Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
by Jonas from Göteborg

Fantastisk service

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
Jag och min fru bodde här 6 nätter i mars. Det verkar som att det brukar vara mycket gäster på hotellet men den veckan vi bodde där var det en mellanvecka och mindre än halvfullt. Vi fick en bungalow som heter Tropical room med underbar utsikt över djungeln. Vissa bungalower sitter ihop två och två och då kanske det finns risk att man störs av grannar. Annars är det väldigt tyst och det enda som hördes var vrålaporna tidigt på morgonen. Maten och servicen är i toppklass och det finns inget att anmärka på. Hotellet ligger avsides en bit ifrån havet och det finns inget på gångavstånd. Området är rätt så tråkigt och har inget att rekommendera. Man kan göra utflykter norrut och söderut. Personalen på hotellet är mycket behjälpliga med att boka utflykter. Vi tyckte att det var lite för länge att bo här men 1-3 nätter hade passat bättre. Vi kan rekommendera hotellet främst till par.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Never being In this part of Costa Rica , the roads are a challenging experience , but the hotel more than made up for the that !. The service and the food were amazing ! . Everyone was very attentive to our needs . Will recommended to a couple that needed a place to go relax and get away from all tourist hassle .