Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Janet from Chicago

A Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Luna Azul was a wonderful place to stay. Our hosts and their staff were excellent and helpful. We enjoyed the quiet, beautiful surroundings. Our room was very comfortable and lovely. Our balcony faced the ocean. We enjoyed having a restaurant right there. Delicious meals! The unpaved roads are bumpy, so just know this in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Exceptional customer service

Posted Feb 6, 2016
The owners, Ralph and Andreas are extremely nice, patient and passionate about their work. They don't go after money but instead go out of their ways to meet your needs. The environment is very nice. We saw monkeys, dragons, etc. A hidden gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The owners are travel buffs with some impressive resumes, so don't hesitate to ask for their advice. The food at their restaurant is fantastic! Rent a car and enjoy the crazy roads up and down the coast. There are many great beaches just a short drive away. Driving is like a video game.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay at Luna Azul

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at Luna Azul was amazing. Rolf and Andreas, the owners, are probably the nicest hotel owners that have ever set foot on earth. The hotel is impeccably maintained and beautiful, with clean and spacious rooms equipped with a wide terrace overlooking lush vegetation and views of the ocean. Breakfast every morning was truly a treat, and the dinners served at their restaurant can match (and even surpass) the best dinners we had in NYC. Rolf was generous with advice for things to do, including arranging a turtle-seeing tour late at night, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our stay. In short, this is THE place to stay in in this part of Costa Rica, both for its amenities and owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Relaxing hotel with wonderful owners

Posted Feb 9, 2015
We stayed 3 nights, had a small view of the beach and a great view of the jungle. Room was comfortable, bed was a little outdated but the deck was huge. The owners are amazing at what to recommend for excursions and made the place feel like home.
5 out of 5
by Martine from Switzerland

Harmony and peace in paradisiac surroundings

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful facilities in a wonderful setting, with a view in the distance of the pacific ocean. Howling monkeys in the trees, frogs in the gardens, and many birds. The roads to access San Juanillo and then the hotel are not paved, and can be bumpy, but this is true of the entire coast in this part of Costa Rica. This is why the nature is also so well preserved and there are no crowds. I was extremely well received by the 2 owners, both from Switzerland. They provided great advice about visits, and organized for a rental car to be brought to me at the hotel. The premises are superbly designed and very well kept, and the swimming pool is delightful. Besides being a great hotel, they have a fantastic restaurant and one eats delicious food every evening. This is very appreciable since the hotel is not really within a very short drive to anywhere except San Juanillo. Distance-wise things are close but because of the roads, driving there takes time. The breakfast is also a delight. I really cannot think of one negative thing to say. It is obvious though, that this is a good place to stay providing one has a car. But even if you arrive without one, as I said, the owners organize a rental for you. I can highly recommend this place. I felt so much at peace that I nearly decided to stay there for my entire time in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Never being In this part of Costa Rica , the roads are a challenging experience , but the hotel more than made up for the that !. The service and the food were amazing ! . Everyone was very attentive to our needs . Will recommended to a couple that needed a place to go relax and get away from all tourist hassle .
5 out of 5
by EH from Western MA

Hilltop Heaven

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels
Luna Azul was the highlight of our two week tour of Costa Rica. Absolutely beautiful, with attention paid to even the smallest of details. Abundant wildlife, empty beaches within minutes, amazing food. Rolf is a fantastic chef and he and Andreas are the most personable and low key hosts. I'm envious of what they've created, a slice of heaven a bit off the beaten path. If you are thinking of Nosara, make the extra effort to go to Luna Azul. It's worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Young Couple from New York, NY, USA

Unique, private, awesome and friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of owners & quality of accommodations
Awesome private bungalow's with ocean views (perfect for sunsets). Outdoor bathroom & shower, the latter of which has an ocean view as well. Big rooms, very clean, giant wrap-around balcony's outside with more than comfortable sitting area. Overall one of the coolest places we have ever stayed. The filet we had at the hotel was the best meal we ate while in the country, and the owners are unbelievably nice. This is the first and most likely the only review I will ever write, which shows you how much we enjoyed this place, that I felt it was necessary to document.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Hotel Luna Azul, Ostional - forest boutique hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2012 on Hotels
A very nice small hotel where the houwler monkies wake you up every morning and you can sit on your own terrace and listen to all the rainforest sounds. The beach is a bit far away, but it is a lovely beach and you have it almost for your self. The restaurant makes some of the best food we had during our 2 weeks holiday at various places in Costa Rica.