Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great value family run hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. Good room, good quality food, friendly service. A little out of town, but that doesn't bother me. Well worth considering.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent. The hotel, staff, surroundings & food were wonderful. It never fails. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Confusing stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
On arrival it looked like a lovely getaway for the weekend, we were there for a family wedding and was only using the hotel as a base to see family with the event there on the Sunday. The welcome was lovely with lots going on by the looks, we checked in and made our way to the room. Our room was lovely, clean and fresh apart from the shower was handheld and didn’t work when my Husband held it past his chest, when I called down the staff was lovely and moved us. I have back issues too and don’t think I could have coped with it for a couple of days. The new room was odd….. the window was broken and wouldn’t shut, I was missing a light bulb in my bedside lamp, the bathroom was very dated but at least we had a shower. If I was spending more time in the room I would have been unhappy. The breakfast on the first morning was horrible – lukewarm, preheated, cold tea and rushed service. During the wedding the 3 course lunch was okay but no means the food I saw on social media sites. Very dry, unseasoned and a complacent chef comes to mind. We were a bit hesitate to order snacks at the bar that night but what a difference the food was completely different and tasted 100% better. The breakfast on the second morning matched our snacks from the night before, fresh, hot and a completely different experience. I would like to say thank you the gentleman who run the bar Sunday night and done the breakfast service on the Monday morning, he is a credit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay all around!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The accommodation standard and staff attentive/awareness of the guest needs.
Brilliant location, Staff very attentive. I would stay again without hesitation. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Liked the hotel, most areas have been made to look modern but room furniture old and not something I like. Breakfast and evening meal were both very good and my room 1, had a bath jacuzzi
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great property and locatoon. Staff at sea. What attention they was focussed on wedding events. Served gin And tonic without gin; missed breakfast since staff would not answer phone about timing. Early diners treated poorly and rushed. More attention needed on training of staff and on those who rent rooms.
4 out of 5
by kevin from huddersfield

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
confortable
5 out of 5
by David from Hull

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
First class
5 out of 5
by Jules from Gloucestershire

Good value & so much nicer than corporate chains.

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful (slightly chilly) hotel, lovely grounds & caring, accommodating staff coupled with great food, made for a relaxing respite from a long work day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Convenient for family event

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Bedroom needed updating
Location: Area not visited, overnight stay for family event
Friendly staff and very good Restaurant. The room was in need of renovation, although bed comfortable and linen spotless