Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful lodge

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Beautiful lodge just next to the world famous Castle with fabulous garden, overlooking the mountains and seas!!! Very professional staff and very delicious breakfast! As the lodge guests we also got the free tour in the Castle! Really enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

Beautiful view!

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We spent two nights at the Lodge. Our room had a balcony overlooking pastures (complete with sheep bleating in the distance) and coastlines. The included breakfast - buffet + cooked entree - was in the stable next door which was a fun spot. One night we sprung for the dinner in the castle which was intimate and great fun with other friendly guests. We enjoyed our stay very much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Stunning setting adds to the old world charm of the castle. Picturesque grounds and a tour of the castle is highly recommended. If you’re a vegan, don’t bother.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

great suprise

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Wotif
Wonderful service. Booked this from overseas for suprise 80th gift for mother in law! The hotel was fantastic at going that extra mile to see it all work out!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Castle Stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Superb views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Amazing old castle and gardens

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Wotif
We just had one night there and wished we had stayed longer. Everything was lovely and the location is amazing, so much to see and do Will be back for sure
4 out of 5
by Andreas

Getaway in the green ..

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Was a nice getaway with a great natural surrounding ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Branford, CT

Beautiful property!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This is the best place to stay while in Dunedin! Drive right through the city center and head directly to Larnach Castle! The view from our room was spectacular. The castle and grounds are filled with historical charm. We were close by Sandfly Bay (amazing beach with dunes and sea lions) and only 30-40 minutes to the end of the Otago peninsula where we saw the Royal Albatross and blue penguins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Idyllic views over bush and fields to the harbour

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Wotif
We loved being a part of the history and the dinner was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting Place to Visit

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We stayed at the Lodge for a night and the view from our room was fabulous. The visit to the castle was also interesting, coupled with its intriguing history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Marketing , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay