Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pleasantly surprised, much better than expected. Ignore all old reviews saying that everything is worn - not anymore! And there were refrigerator and kettle in the room, very handy for noodles and morning coffee. Hot water in the bathroom starts instantly. Pleasant strong water flow in the shower. All much nicer than in the pictures. It was cheaper to stay in this hotel in Kusatsu and commute frequently by train to Kyoto (about 20 minutes, every 6 minutes or so, 410 Yen) than to stay in a hotel in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Thought is around Kyoto but actually need.....

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Thought is at Kyoto but actually need to take train to Kyoto. Bit surprising there is line of Sakura trees line up and is lovely. Walking distance to train station and some restaurant around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Clean and tidy hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Clean and tidy plus reception staff are very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to a station.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pillows are hard as rock!. Otherwise very good accomodation great room and staff.
4 out of 5
by Maricris

Clean hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
It was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
This hotel was lovely. It had a great location, being a 5 minute walk away from the nearest train station and all the local shops, had a number of great food places nearby and was only 20 minutes away from Kyoto central on the train. The room was a little smaller than I would have liked, but it was extremely clean, the staff were constantly friendly and welcoming and it was easily one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Would definitely stay again should I be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We stayed seven nights and the staff were wonderfu

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Everything
Location: Train station to Mother Lake
Clean room handy to railway and activities Great breakfasts Miyoko was really helpful when I needed to find a clinic
3 out of 5
by SUPUL from Manchester

easy access to station

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was undergoing repairs and the hotel name was not displayed and we had difficulty finding it. But it was great for food shopping with a lovely supermarket close by and very close to the station
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wouldn't Stay Here Again

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Lastminute
The hotel presents well, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean but they stink of cigarette smoke. The smoking area is right as you enter the reception and it even comes through the air conditioning vents as you can virtually smoke anywhere in the building (including the elevator as the smell would suggest). It's a little rural for my liking and there isn't anything to do in the town. We had the "Privacy Please" sign on our door handle one morning and came back in the afternoon to see that the maid had been in our room. This would have been fine had we not left expensive belongings on the bed but it was our last night and we were in the midst of packing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Small room, good location

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: location
Location: close to transport, shops and nightlife
We had a nice stay here, our room was quite small, the bed was very small for to people to comfortably steep in, the bathroom was also small ... everything about this room was small. but it was in a good location, very close to the train station and to shops and nightlife. would recommend if you are travelling on a budget.