Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Region

Great location. Close to everything.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The room was so spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading name

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The lady that helped us when we checked in to the hotel was very helpful and knowledgeable.
Cons: Upgrade & educate staff.This has been a family business for 30 odd years. Sometimes you can't see what needs to be done because it's too close.
Location: Nothing to tell!!
It was disappointing. Found the name being very misleading as to the location. Also the floor in our room was really dirty, my feet got black after having a shower and stepping out onto the floor. The bar and restaurant was nothing to brag about and at breakfast the waitress got our order wrong twice at breakfast and there was almost no people there so she wasn't overrun by customers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austria

Tolles Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Sehr sauber, großer Parkplatz. Toller Außenpool. Bushaltestelle vor dem Hotel, ca 25 min bis ins Zentrum. Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Nice and clean, friendly staff

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Everything really.
Cons: Maybe renovate the outside?
Location: The hotel is located across the street from Westgate Mall (small mall with shoppers, RBC and bunch of other stores, cafe, diner and dry cleaners)
I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It doesn't look so great on the outside but it's nice and clean inside. Nothing fancy but you've got everything you may need. Clean rooms (mine had a TV, microwave, mini fridge, iron and a safe), nice bathrooms, fully stocked (except for toothpaste) and even a small cafe and a gym. I'm not sure if it's standard but I also had free local calls and WiFi. One thing I didn't like was the noise. You can hear everything that's happening in the hallway and outside so if you're planning on sleeping in, wear ear plugs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Good stay hotel was clean and people were friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitby, ON

The staff are great but the washrooms are not.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The bedding and facility with the exception of the washroom were very clean and well kept. The staff were very friendly and polite. Nice TV.
Cons: Washrooms need better sound insulation, ventilation, mold abatement and drain maintenance. Mini fridges need to be replaced with quieter models.
Location: Convenient 24/7 Shoppers Drug Mart across the street for any pharmacy/food needs. Tons to see and do in surrounding Ottawa area. Try the Lone Star!
We stayed in room 126 Washroom had black mold in the shower grout, under the toilet rim, under the rim where the under-counter sink meets the counter, and in the overflow drain of the sink. The washroom had a noticeable mold odor especially after a shower upped the humidity. The drains were slow/partially plugged in both the sink and shower. The ceiling vent had very weak airflow (could just barely hold up a square of toilet paper) and I suspect this poor ventilation is contributing to the mold problem. The plumbing/water noises from the sink running/toilet flushing were very loud in the bedroom with the washroom door closed and could be enough to wake someone. The pipe to the shower head was coming through a large square hole in the tile work and was not secured into the wall. This will end up with a pipe joint failing from customers adjusting the shower head and shifting the pipe. The mini fridge was also very loud when running to the point it could cause difficulty sleeping for some guests. The bed was okay though the pillows were extremely soft and unsupportive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marmora ON

Possibly ideal stay troubled by noise

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff and a new building.
Cons: Keep an eye on noisy guests and encourage respect for those who need sleep.
Location: Location was near a suburban shopping mall and the office of a lawyer we had to do business with.
A new building and pleasant staff promised a comfortable night. However the air conditioning system was noisy and other guests kept us awake until 3 am by shouting, crying and banging doors. We were glad to leave and get home for a good night's sleep. We liked the fact that liquid toiletries, shampoo, conditioner and bath oil, were supplied in dispensers rather than those tiny awkward bottles whose labels are too small to read in a shower bath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bel hotel chambre sans tapis!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
J'ai bien aimé cet hotel et il y a plusieurs services très prêt. Par contre, c'est loin du centre ville
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable stay for my family

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Very friendly staff - they had lots of suggestions for things to do in the city.The hotel was very clean and well maintained, as was the heated outdoor pool. Don't be misled by the word 'heated' as the pool is not even close to the temperature of a hot tub, but it was nice and refreshing on a hot day. We stayed for five nights so we had to do some laundry - a little pricey at $2.50 for a wash and $2.50 for a dry. I suggest bringing your own detergent because they charge for that too. Great breakfast at the on-site restaurant - good food at reasonable prices. We had a nice room that fit two adults and three kids under age 6. Our room had a bit of an odour, but not bad enough to make me want to change rooms. A little humid in our first-floor room - like a cool basement without a dehumidifier - but again, not bad enough to make me want to move. The hotel was very accessible to the 417, walking distance to a grocery store (which was handy because we could store food in the in-room fridge and heat up with in-room microwave), drug store, and playground for the kids. Free parking. A great place to stay with my family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel trotz Baustelle

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Im Moment werden Umbauarbeiten und Reparaturarbeiten ausgeführt. Das schmälert die Bewertung etwas.