Ratings based on 1,292 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great little hotel with a patio or balcony. A couple of blocks from the Byward nightlife yet quiet at night. Decently priced and perfect location for tourism or work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Enjoyed our room with the balcony. Great view. Very good breakfast. Parking next door is reasonably priced. Parking sign showed it was "full" but we went in anyways to find multiple empty spaces! We would definitely stay at this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from beresford, nb

Great Experience

Posted Jul 11, 2017
everything was great about this hotel. The breakfast was excellent! It was close to shops, restaurents, parlement,the Rideau canal, the By market etc but still in a quiet neighborhood and we had access to a nearby underground parking. We wish we could have stayed longer. I don't think that the staff was bilingusl though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel close to the byword market area

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Rooms need update/reno
Location: Fantastic, many things within walking distance.
Enjoyed the stay. Helpful friendly staff. Excellent breakfast included. Easy walk to byword market, parliament buildings and many museums. Lots of good restaurant choices nearby/walking distance. Rooms are in need of Reno but clean and comfortable. Not quite as attractive as they appeared on website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, On

lovely, small, cozy, quiet

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast and vibrant art decorating the walls which helped create a bright, fresh atmosphere. The bedding was light and comfortable, not heavy.
Location: Close to Byward Market, wide variety of wonderful restaurants, Parliament Buildings, Rideau Canal and Centre, University of Ottawa, National Gallery
I enjoyed staying at the Byward Blue Inn and definitely would go back. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was equipped with a fridge, microwave and sink so that we could bring in food and enjoy it on our balcony with a view of the parliament buildings. The location is within walking distance of many great Ottawa attractions. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, relaxing stay in downtown Ottawa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Charming Inn, walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: - Excellent location, clean, room had balcony, very quiet, friendly staff, breakfast included, well maintained, safe area
Cons: - Extremely minor item: suggest room-darkening drapes
Location: Half a block from Byward Market, tons of restaurants and pubs, walking distance from Rideau Canal, Parliament Buildings, tour buses/boats, downtown
Charming inn excellently located in walking distance to Byward Market, Rideau Street, Parliament buildings, the canal, tour buses and boats. Our room was clean, bright, quiet. It had a lovely little balcony with table and chairs to sit outside and enjoy this quiet, nicely treed street. Hot and cold breakfast included and afternoon tea in the dining room. Will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Afternoon tea was a nice bonus. There were robes in the room for our use. The small fridge and microwave were handy.
Cons: Pillows were hard and flat. There was no clock in the room.
Location: Byward Market and lots of restaurants.
This hotel is located near the edge of Byward Market so it has easy access to lots of restaurants without the busyness of being right in the middle of things. Location is good for walking to lots of the tourist location e.g. Parliament Hill, Laurier House etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Fabulous hotel, great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Great location, central to everything in downtown Ottawa/ Gatineau,very comfortable, very reasonable cost, very enjoyable.
Cons: Nothing: it was perfect
Location: It's in the Byward Market with more great restaurants, pubs, cafes, shops than you could possibly need in 1 visit, all within comfortable walking dist
Wanted a boutique hotel experience (tired of the chains) without having to compromise on comfort, service or location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Not pretentious, for it's super location
Cons: Maybe, face lift for foyer and common areas, in the interior.
Location: Wonderful location. Walking distance to most places.
By Ward Blue Inn felt like a home away from home for the two nights I spent there. Twenty seventh to twenty ninth July7 2017. From the excellent Hotel manager, Angelo to the house keeping staff, they were super friendly and accommodating. Most definitely, will be staying there whenever in Ottawa. Very close to everything. SWalking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent England

Bad Experience

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location is good.
Cons: When something goes wrong, deal with it in a professional manner, rather than making dubious claims that struggle to hold water
Booked this hotel on strength of reviews. Check in OK. Hotel old, slight tired look. On entering room 66 was met with a foul drain smell. Went to reception and to hotels credit was met with a staff member by the time I had returned to room, on entering the room, he stated there was something wrong and he would have to move us and investigate smell. Was moved next door to room 64, in this room the portable air con unit was running full blast, he commented the housekeeper must have left it on.......warning missed, turned unit off due to excessive noise and after a while went out to explore Ottawa, finally returned to room late at night and on entering room was met with the same smell as previous room. Ended up sleeping with door open to balcony all night to try to evacuate smell. This was a 3 night prepaid stay, decided to check out next morning as did not want to be moved again and chance repeat issue. Desk manager checked me out and stated account clear and goodbye, rather surprising when you check out 2 days early, so I raised the issue, to be met with the response 'everyone has a different smell tolerance' They contacted via Expedia and claimed there was a skunk in a neighbouring property and the smell had come through the door!! Rather strange as we had to open said door to help alleviate smell during night. Case of buyer beware at this hotel For avoidance of doubt I never requested a refund of my 2 unused nights and nor was I offered one.