Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice surprise

Posted Jan 11, 2017
i expected an average hotel because that is what it is rated as. The breakfast that was included was great. They had people there to cook you fresh bacon and eggs (this was Sunday morning I don't know if they have that all week). The rooms were very nice and clean. They had two different types of pillows on the bed for each person - one softer and one harder - so you could choose your comfort. There was a sofa in the room as well. The front desk person was kind and courteous - he gave us a room on the main floor with a sliding glass door where we could park and bring our stuff in without having to go out far in the really snowy and freezing rain weather. We only stayed in town the one night but if I was to stay again &/or longer I would definitely return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Facility needs work.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location...staff.....the actual renovations which were done.
Cons: Stairwells....entrance way.....bathrooms
Location: We were visiting family.
The promised "complete renovation" came up short. Bathroom certainly needs more work. The staff are very nice but the owner is letting them down with the state of the facility. An upgrade would perhaps also improve the quality of the clientele staying here. Having trashed the owner.....this is certainly a business that I would not want to be in......so perhaps some credit is due.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Hwy 417

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Cons: The water in the room was $2.99. I did not drink that, I had my own, but looking at the bill sometime later, I was charged for the water!!!!
I was only there for one night. I took a ground floor and there were plenty of locks for safety. no worries..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel; near facilities we wanted

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Good rate.
Hotel was good for a family gathering. Breakfast was good. Rate was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, US

Clean, great bed, window opened, pet friendly!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was willing to accommodate my MCS chemical sensitivities disability when preparing room. Second floor window could open for fresh air.
Cons: Breakfast room could be larger.
Location: Conveniently located to museums, restaurants and so many shopping options
Very comfortable bed with fragrance free linen! Clean room without being sprayed with chemicals. Large sofa and big chair at desk. Sliding window to let in fresh air. Good list to explain TV channels. Plenty of hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room ok nothing more

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: There is s big mall near by and other hotels that seems better
The worst part during breakfast no place to sit..only three tables !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recently renovated? Is that a joke?

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The bathroom left a lot to be considered clean and did not improve over the 3 nights. The tub was filled with mold and in need of care. Some of the staff was considerate and friendly however some were quite not interested in customer service. The breakfast was adequate however I brought my own. We stayed there because we could not find anything else close to the price. I guess you get what you pay for. Location was easy to get around as we had a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Reasonable rate, convenient location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: See review above.
The newly remodeled rooms and amenities appear quite comfortable and clean, although the building's halls and stairwells are certainly still dated and yield a sense of old musky motels. Be aware there is no elevator, so luggage needs to be hauled up the single flight of stairs. The front staff are friendly, and the rooms were well cleaned each day of your stay. Parking is abundant in any case, and it is relatively closely located to the Lonely Star Texan Grill and a Pizza Pizza within walking distance, so food is accessible. Breakfast was plain/rudimentary, but a welcome amenity for the business traveler. The St. Laurent Mall across the street offers much of what anyone could need for shopping/entertainment, and the bus loop there allows access to downtown and south Ottawa by a single bus taking ~30 minutes. For those interested, there is also a card and board game store next to the Pizza Pizza. For the cost per night, it's about standard for what you might expect of an upper end motel, lower end hotel. There's a Welcome Inn and Holiday Inn right beside them, and I suspect the price to value ratio here is probably better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara

Once we found it, it was a very convenient.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient, clean, good flat screen tv, well supplied - hair dryer, fridge etc.
Cons: Spoons
Location: I found it very convenient to get to a headquarters convention hotel as well as 2 museums.
The mapquest view wasn't too accurate and we found that Ottawa needs larger signs on the major street intersections. They need to be visible sooner so that you can be in the proper lane if necessary. Also, (nothing to do with the hotel) but yellow on green is not a good choice for reading regular street signs - not enough contrast. Once we found the hotel, it was a very convenient location for our purposes and the desk staff was very helpful in this regard. Hotel note : the plastic spoons for eating cereal should be "soup" spoons. Narrow ones are not good for eating flake type cereal. Enjoyed our weekend stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and thank you for your 4/5 rating mentioning our convenient location, cleanliness and room amenities! I look forward to providing you a warm welcome back on your next trip to Ottawa! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To close to hyway.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The hotel is right beside the hyway. There were no screens on the windows which were wide open when we got to our room. And the toilet kept running on all night. It's had some reno's but still needs more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 3/5 rating and I’m disappointed that you did not enjoy our convenient location near the highway. You are correct in noting that our hotel has had renovations and we are in the midst of replacing our bathtubs. I do hope you reported the toilet as we would have fixed it immediately. I look forward to hosting you again in future! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager