Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel; near facilities we wanted

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Good rate.
Hotel was good for a family gathering. Breakfast was good. Rate was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon, US

Clean, great bed, window opened, pet friendly!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was willing to accommodate my MCS chemical sensitivities disability when preparing room. Second floor window could open for fresh air.
Cons: Breakfast room could be larger.
Location: Conveniently located to museums, restaurants and so many shopping options
Very comfortable bed with fragrance free linen! Clean room without being sprayed with chemicals. Large sofa and big chair at desk. Sliding window to let in fresh air. Good list to explain TV channels. Plenty of hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room ok nothing more

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: There is s big mall near by and other hotels that seems better
The worst part during breakfast no place to sit..only three tables !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recently renovated? Is that a joke?

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The bathroom left a lot to be considered clean and did not improve over the 3 nights. The tub was filled with mold and in need of care. Some of the staff was considerate and friendly however some were quite not interested in customer service. The breakfast was adequate however I brought my own. We stayed there because we could not find anything else close to the price. I guess you get what you pay for. Location was easy to get around as we had a car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Reasonable rate, convenient location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: See review above.
The newly remodeled rooms and amenities appear quite comfortable and clean, although the building's halls and stairwells are certainly still dated and yield a sense of old musky motels. Be aware there is no elevator, so luggage needs to be hauled up the single flight of stairs. The front staff are friendly, and the rooms were well cleaned each day of your stay. Parking is abundant in any case, and it is relatively closely located to the Lonely Star Texan Grill and a Pizza Pizza within walking distance, so food is accessible. Breakfast was plain/rudimentary, but a welcome amenity for the business traveler. The St. Laurent Mall across the street offers much of what anyone could need for shopping/entertainment, and the bus loop there allows access to downtown and south Ottawa by a single bus taking ~30 minutes. For those interested, there is also a card and board game store next to the Pizza Pizza. For the cost per night, it's about standard for what you might expect of an upper end motel, lower end hotel. There's a Welcome Inn and Holiday Inn right beside them, and I suspect the price to value ratio here is probably better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara

Once we found it, it was a very convenient.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Convenient, clean, good flat screen tv, well supplied - hair dryer, fridge etc.
Cons: Spoons
Location: I found it very convenient to get to a headquarters convention hotel as well as 2 museums.
The mapquest view wasn't too accurate and we found that Ottawa needs larger signs on the major street intersections. They need to be visible sooner so that you can be in the proper lane if necessary. Also, (nothing to do with the hotel) but yellow on green is not a good choice for reading regular street signs - not enough contrast. Once we found the hotel, it was a very convenient location for our purposes and the desk staff was very helpful in this regard. Hotel note : the plastic spoons for eating cereal should be "soup" spoons. Narrow ones are not good for eating flake type cereal. Enjoyed our weekend stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, It’s always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and thank you for your 4/5 rating mentioning our convenient location, cleanliness and room amenities! I look forward to providing you a warm welcome back on your next trip to Ottawa! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To close to hyway.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The hotel is right beside the hyway. There were no screens on the windows which were wide open when we got to our room. And the toilet kept running on all night. It's had some reno's but still needs more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 3/5 rating and I’m disappointed that you did not enjoy our convenient location near the highway. You are correct in noting that our hotel has had renovations and we are in the midst of replacing our bathtubs. I do hope you reported the toilet as we would have fixed it immediately. I look forward to hosting you again in future! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to main hwy

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Close to amenties.
Cons: outside the property could be a little more welcoming.
Location: close to the train station and the mall.
i booked this hotel because it was close to where i was going to be renting my car and the train station. When driving up to the hotel i wasn't sure what to expect but i found a great property, the staff were very professional and accommodating and the property was clean and kept up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your awesome review mentioning our excellent proximity to the highway, train station and St. Laurent Shopping Centre! We take great pride in ensuring our guests have an excellent hospitality stay and thank you for recognizing our Team Members. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hotel was just OK nothing special about it ..........................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 3/5 rating and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Ottawa! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dundas

Posted Sep 11, 2016
gave us a room that wasn't cleaned! Room was changed without a problem. Breakfast area was clean and staff in that area was very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, I do sincerely apologize that there was a lack of communication between our Front Desk and Housekeeping Departments when you were checked into a dirty room. Guest feedback, both good and bad, is shared with our Team Members in order to motivate the Team and improve our operation. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our Breakfast Team and I will be sure to share it with them! Sincerely, Peter Switzer, General Manager