Ratings based on 2,795 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The Lord Elgin is centrally located and walking distance to everything in Ottawa. All the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was updated, well stocked, comfortable and clean. I would for sure recommend to a friend and most definitely stay there next time in Ottawa. Excellent experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review for us and other users to read; we really appreciate it! We are delighted to hear about the details of your stay and are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect. It is always so great to hear that our guests are enjoying the newly renovated rooms, and that you were able to get some rest and relaxation during your stay. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in town. Until next time, safe travels! Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

great location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Fantastic location! Had to spend 1 night with no AC but they were able to fix it for 2nd night. Most of staff were very helpful in resolving the isssue. Best part is the close proximity to Parliament & museums.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that our staff provided you with such excellent service during the inconvenience you faced, we are lucky to have such an amazing team! Until next time, safe travels. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully renovated hotel and lovely employees

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cons: Basic amenities such as parking and a pool. My husband used the business center.
Location: So cose to Parliament and museums
Wonderful historic hotel centrally located downtown in walking distance to everything. We were greeted by friendly and helpful employees. The room was fully renovated (incl the gorgeous bathroom). Our beds were so comfortable and we couldnt hear the noise from outside. Would absolutely recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for recommending us to other users, we appreciate your feedback! We are delighted to hear you were able to relax and explore Ottawa during your stay. Thanks again, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So close to everything

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel was lovely, the staff were so helpful, especially the valet/ concierge
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. We will be sure to pass along your review to our staff and we look forward to having your next stay with us. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Staff!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Melanie, the manager, fantastic!!! Reception, Jessica and Madison, fantastic!!! Bell/valet staff, Anwar and Robin, fantastic!!! The location is excellent, but what makes this a wonderful place to stay is the staff. Enthusiastic and welcoming. Looking forward to visiting the Lord Elgin and our new friends in Ottawa some time soon! Rich
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We are lucky to both be in such a wonderful location and to have a great team of staff, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed both! We will be sure to pass along your review to those staff members. We are certain it will make their day! Until next time, safe travels. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel downtown Ottawa

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Everything is great except the only indoor pool is too strong with chlorine and it is kinda dark so it feels suffocating in there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you Hannah for the review. We are happy to hear that you found everything to be great. We will also be sure to pass along your feedback about the pool. We hope to have you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Perfect location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Read above
Cons: Room decor and ammenities
Location: Museums, parliament, theater, markets, shopping.
Walking distance to the Parliament, Byword Market, parks, and great shopping make the Lord Elgin a perfect location. Despite renovations, the rooms are not well appointed and the decor is lacking. For the price we felt the room was expensive. The hotel rooms are closer to 3 star than the 4 star rating that the hotel has. The bed was comfortable. I want to commend the general manager on running a property well from the point of view of staff helpfulness and staff knowledge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Eva, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting our location in relation to popular sites within the downtown Ottawa area. It is something we never take for granted!! We are thrilled that you found our staff courteous and helpful, and will be sure to pass along your feedback to David our General Manager. Thanks again, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CANADA

A great stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location, service.
Cons: Water in the rooms. My husband wished there was a mini bar too!
Location: We walked everywhere... Very close to parliament hill, Byward market is also a 5-10 minute walk. Elgin St. Had good restaurants to walk to.
The Lord Elgin lives up to the good reviews. It's an excellent location. All staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was great: clean and the beds were comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear surfyellowmegs, Thank you for the kind review! It's wonderful feedback to hear we've been living up to our reviews. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and are very fortunate to located where we are! Until next time, safe travels. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The staff is incredibly friendly and warm. Not the usual snobbery you expect at a nice hotel. Gorgeous bathroom!
Cons: The pillows are not great and beds are a little too firm. I don't like feeling the mattress through a very thin mattress pad.
Location: Location is excellent, right near the canal and close to Parliament Hill, Jazz Festival, Rideau Centre for shopping and Byward Market.
A very nice hotel that was really too nice for the one night stay I required. I appreciated a professional, welcoming staff. Free wi-fi was not reliable and as with most high-end hotels, you have to pay for streaming capabilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, We appreciate you taking the time to let other users know about what you liked during stay! We are lucky to both be in such a wonderful location and to have a great team of staff, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed both! We are replacing our pillows shortly. While most of our guest find our beds very comfortable, it is difficult to please the many different preferences in mattresses. Thank you for the review and we do hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oshawa

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Everything was very good (location, buffet, nice room, big tv) however, I found the mattress a bit old and saggy. It also had a gorgeous bathroom, including walk-in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate your feedback with us and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. While most of our guests find our beds very comfortable, it is difficult to please the many different preferences in mattresses. We do hope we will have the pleasure of your return! Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel