Ratings based on 2,712 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The hotel was in the centr of the city, close to all of the places we wanted to visit. Very clean. Friendly staff. I'd definitely recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Walking distance and across from Park

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Primarily it's walking distance to many of the attractions around Ottawa
Cons: Bigger room with view
The hotel was a pleasant surprise given it proximity to Rideau, Parliament, bars, and food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient Location to Everything Downtown

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Plus the staff were extremely helpful! Sitting in front of the fireplace in the lobby on a cold day was very nice.
Cons: Sound-proofing the rooms. Less air-conditioning in the hallways.
Loved the location & the in-house restaurant (albeit quite expensive) and Starbucks was very convenient. Staff were also great. Unfortunately, the stay was marred by the noise pollution in the upstairs area. All hotel doors close very loudly, and toilet flushing sound would wake even the heaviest sleeper. Disappointed that the builders did not include more sound-proofing in the obviously recent renovation. If you are hard of hearing, this is the Ottawa hotel that you might enjoy ... because it was great otherwise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockville

Beautiful Hotel Right Downtown

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The Lord Elgin is a classic hotel with a modern twist. The room was newly renovated, the bathroom was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and it was only a few blocks away from the ByWard Market. The valet service was worth the price, then you do not have to worry about your car in downtown Ottawa. We have already booked our next night for a wedding in August!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario Canada

Exceptionally nice hotel, fabulous staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Almost everything. The architecture, the interior design, the wonderful staff, the cleanliness and the proximity to all the sites.
Cons: The only thing that I did not like in the room was the odour in the closet that held the ironing board, I know it was the wood inside but not nice.
Location: Excellent location.The Art Gallery, The War Museum and the Byward Market and the Parliament Buildings and restaurants are all within walking distance.
The historic Lord Elgin Hotel is a terrific hotel and not just your run of the mill one. Bellman upon arrival could not have been more gracious and helpful. Valet Parking Wonderful. Front desk staff even accommodated us with a better room for comfort. Room was exceptional, clean, large, renovated recently and made our stay even more pleasureable. Beds were super comfortable and washroom was spotless and modern. Kuerig Coffee Machine in every room was a nice change. Television was a nice large screen probably 55 inch but must say changing the channels was a bit long in receiving one channel from the next. Restaurant in the hotel was excellent and reasonable. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and really enjoyed the buffet, the variety was wonderful and fresh. Amenities are superb, fitness centre, pool and sauna and hot tub! Nice that they had a Starbucks on site! Our stay at The Lord Elgin was indeed a pleasure, the hotel is a five star rating in my opinion. The staff are by far some of the best staff I have encountered. They were so friendly, always willing to help, always willing to show us directions to sites we inquired about and even when it was raining they made sure we had an umbrella.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
Dear Judith, We truly appreciate your inclusive and glowing review! We try to ensure that every guest feels like they are at home and so we a delighted to hear that our staff was able to help make your stay so superb. Thank you for mentioning all of reasons why you enjoyed stay. It sounds like you had a lovely time in the city and we do hope to have you stay with us again the next time you’re in town. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2017
As a repeat customer, i am concerned about the length of time it took to serve lunch both days recently. The room was not full. The fan in the room was noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. Slow service is not common place at Grill 41 and we have passed along your feedback to the restaurant manager. We have been made aware of the noise from the fans in some of the guestrooms and are working now updating the units in these rooms. I do hope you made the desk aware of this noise, so we could have our maintenance team attend to it immediately. Thank you again and we do hope to have you back with us again. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great location, great people, great experience! Thanks to Christopher at front desk who helped kick start a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Christopher. We are indeed, very fortunate to have him with us and your comments are sure to bring a smile to his face! Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but service lacking

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Honestly the room service food was the worst I have ever eaten. The pizza was not hot or cooked all the way through. Not only was the food bad, the restaurant only had 3 choices for a red wine, and the Cabernet Sauvignon was absolutely awful and actually undrinkable. The room had 3 pillows upon check in. I called down for a reasonable request of getting some more, and the attendant who answered the call gave me attitude and hesitation, and only 2 were brought up. Was also frustrated that the thermostat could only be lowered to 16, when I arrived in the room it was sitting at 26 degrees, so it was way too warm. The TV volume also had a cap at around half sound, which was frustrating when listening to quiet programs. It's a great location and the rooms are nice, but amenities are clearly lacking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you faced, which were all very valid. The service you received was not at all what we are known for and this shall be addressed. I have passed along your feedback regarding the food and beverage to our restaurant manager. We have a new chef starting next week and we are all very excited and know he will have a positive impact in the Grill. Thank you again. We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back and your next stay will be a memorable one for all the right reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yarmouth ,N.S.

Nice hotel , good swimming pool & exercise room,

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: It is centennial locked.
Cons: don,t know
Location: As is said it is close to the government on Parliament Hill, restaurant, gift shops,Museums,etc.
Good hotel, close to Parliament hill and other business. Easy walking distance as it is in the business area of Government and other essential businesses. Close to restaurants, museum, gifts shops etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
Dear Ron, Thank you for the review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and found it to be central for exploring the city. We are extremely fortunate to be located where we are. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Like any other budget hotel just more expensive

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The location is good, recently renovated.
Cons: Find a balance between energy savings and customer comfort.
It was an OK experience. I would pick another hotel next time. Heating was an issue, 60F with the AC cranked all the way up which sounded like a jet on a takeoff. You can't sleep with it on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Ann Meelker , Hotel Management
Dear Martha, We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and are sorry to hear about your frustrations. We do hope that you called our guest services as they would have been happy to help you adjust your heating and check to make sure it was working properly. Again we would like to offer our apologies and welcome you to contact us if you wish to discuss this further. Thank you, Ann Meelker Director of Sales Lord Elgin Hotel