Ratings based on 2,867 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Hotel was nice, close to Parliament and other attractions. Kids enjoyed the pool would have nice if it was a bit warmer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: I really loved the staff. They were great. Everyone from the front desk to the bar staff and the head chef. Great experience.
Cons: The room layouts were odd. 1st room - TV not viewable from bed. 2nd room - Shower door would not open fully b/c of the towel rack location.
I really loved the staff. They were great. Everyone from the front desk to the bar staff and the head chef. Great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, ON

Excellent location, service, and breakfast!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Great location, walking distance to key Ottawa sites. Very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff at check-in and check-out. Fabulous breakfast!
Location: We walked to Laurier Centre for great shopping, to ByWard Market, to Parliament Hill, to Sparks Street, to Royal Mint, to National Art Gallery.
We would definitely stay here again! We parked the car ($28 per day) and didn't go back to it for the 3 days that we were in Ottawa. The staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in and check-out. The room was nice and the bed was very comfortable (even for a double bed vs. a queen or king). My daughter and husband enjoyed the pool and we all enjoyed the daily breakfast! It was fantastic! Adult breakfast buffet is $19.50 (kids eat free), but we didn't eat lunch, just dinner after the fab food to start the day (see photos). Definitely call the hotel directly to book. We booked through Expedia and were overcharged as kids are supposed to eat free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Very comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
Cons: I would have enjoyed either a steam room or sauna to go along with the hot tub.
Location: I had breakfast, and also went out in the evening, in the Byward Market. The Parliament Hill and National Arts Centre is also very close.
The Novotel had everything I was looking for in a Ottawa hotel. It is situated by Byward market and the Rideau Centre, and within walking distance to all the major attractions. It has a nice lobby with 3 computers anyone can use for Internet. I asked for a quiet room and it was exceptionally quiet and very comfortable. It felt very modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Brilliant Location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
If you want to be close to shopping, the Byward Market or Parliament Hill this is the location. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were a good size.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronton

Close to downtown but disappointing for the price.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: the young lady at check in was most helpful - and the cleaning lady
Cons: better description of parking location/costs, cost of room more in line with services, no gouging during events. A warning about area
Location: good access to many tourist attractions, shopping
The room was advertised as a |premium" room. It was tired and dated with poor air circulation and some limited attempts to provide amenities that would warrant that advertisement. Other parts of the hotel clearly have gone through a face lift but at the "reduced rate" of $400 Cdn per night I would have expected things like a fan in the bathroom and a fridge that kept things cold! The room had 2 doubles but clearly was designed and sized for a king or a single as the layout was quite cramped. I was extremely disappointed at the value for money. It was more disturbing to find comparable rooms available at even a lessor rate. All and all - not pleased with the experience booking a room through this service. On the plus side - the staff were friendly, check in and out seamless and they were knowledgeable about the city and the events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Convention Hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, modern
Cons: Quite acceptable as it is.
Location: Rideau Centre is across the street, Pariiament buildings within walking distance. Great location.
Our convention was at the Westin, less than a block away. Novotel was more modern than Westin and had free wi-fi while Westin was 'original' hadn't changed in 25 years as I recall. We moved to the Westin (my booking issue) and found a very expensive room that did not include wi-fi!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
We liked the clean rooms and the friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed a pleasant stay in an excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel and walking distance to everything

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: It is clean, comfortable beds and close to major attractions
Cons: more water bottles to be in fridge
Location: close to major attractions, walking distance to most, e.g. Parliament hill, museums, galleries etc.
my little group of friends and I enjoyed the hotel and Ottawa tulip festival tremendously. We always have a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Perfect location

Posted May 21, 2017
Close to everything - Byward Market, Parliament Hill, shopping, Rideau Canal, The Mint, Ottawa River, public transport...