Ratings based on 2,632 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Novotel Ottawa Hotel is very well located, close to excellent shopping, the ByWard Market and the numerous surounding restaurants. It is also within easy walking distance of many tourist attractions, including the historic Parliament buildings. Dining at the hotel is good, and the breakfast buffet is exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. Our close proximity to many of the best attractions Ottawa has to offer makes us the hotel of choice when visiting Ottawa. Lookining forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location downtown

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Great walk to the Rideau centre, easy pick up and drop off
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 4 star rating! Our central location is a definite asset for visitors to Ottawa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary,

Great Central Hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Everything. Our comfortable and quiet room was attractively decorated, with a view toward the Byward Market.
Cons: They should oil the creaky hinges on the bathroom door.
Location: You can walk to Byward Market, Parliament Buildings, the National Gallery and National Arts Centre, to name a few.
The hotel is within walking distance of major Ottawa attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and five star rating! I will pass along your suggestion to our maintenance crew.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Location: Location provided a short walk to Parliament Hill
I had never stayed at a Novotel Hotel before and was skeptical as is my nature. However from the check-in to check-out the staff was great. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were amazing. Price was reasonable. If ever in Ottawa again, I would stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, How wonderful to receive such kind words. All of the team members at Novotel Ottawa would like to thank you for your kindness. We are all looking forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location...walking distance to most sights!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Apparently all rooms are being refurbished. Actually our room on 5th floor has not had a Reno, however, was adequate....however, once renovated will
Location: By Ward Market is just across the street....many restaurants and pubs. As well, across street in a different direction was Rideau Center.
We booked a "mini" suite since our stay was four nights....we wanted a sofa in the room. We were very pleasantly surprised to have a separate bedroom with a king bed, large desk and two chairs. In living room area there was a love seat, two upholstered chairs, coffee table, large dining table with 6 chairs, bar and frig. Walkin shower was large as well. All staff were excellent. On arrival with our little dog, front desk gave him a toy that he loves. The housekeeping staff was great as well as checkout staff! Definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to have you with us! Looking forward in welcoming you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Rooms are clean and modern

Posted May 16, 2016
Good location, modern decor, compact but comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Holly, Thank you so much for that wonderful review and five star rating. We always appreciate comments form our satisfied guests!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Clean modern hotel, but pricey

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: clean and modern.
Cons: Few extras (lotion, etc) Restaurant food was poor. Drinks were VERY pricey and not clear on menu ($9.00 for 1oz neat)
Location: Great downtown location near parliament
Room was clean with modern décor, but there were few extras and the room was pricey. Was told restaurant was top 10 in city, but food was not very good, and pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our food and beverage outlet. I trust that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and we look forward in welcoming you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location, very good price

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanness, location
Cons: :-)
Location: The best location for that price. So close to Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, National Gallery of Canada, Notre-Dame Cathedral Basilica
We spent there just one night but it was worth. From the warm welcome to the eventual goodbye they deserve excellent rating. So close to Parliament Hill, restaurants. Easy accessible from 417HWY Try "crudo" at the restaurant downstairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Leszek, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from satisfied guests. We are also glad that you enjoyed the food at The Albion Rooms restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Hotel is very convenient - excellent food

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Location is close to all areas we needed to get to while on this trip. The Albion Rooms is excellent! excellent food and atmosphere.
Cons: Junior suite we were in needed a bit of make over.
Location: This hotel is close to the shopping center and Shaw Centre. Short walk to the Parliament and library. The Hooch has awesome food & craft beers.
Checked in late but room assigned was not ready for some reason. Front desk upgraded us to speed up check in. That's good customer service which we appreciated!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear EM, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. Rest assured that the Junior Suite will be renovated in the next phase of our on going project. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Shaw Conference Centre!

Posted May 2, 2016
Pleasant stay, and right D.T., so close to everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by D. Ponte, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review!