Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no comfortable at all, dark, old and leaking

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Do not like it at all
Cons: I did not even unpack my stuff and stayed up all night/
Location: location is Ok and not clean nearby.
I have to say this is the worst hotel I stayed during Canada while the price is not cheap at all. The hotel is not worth comparing to the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Terrible! Terrible! Terrible! Terrible! Terrible! This is the worst-and only better than homeless...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Very dirty hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Very dirty hotel ... carpet was sticky I took some pictures if u guys need let me know I couldn’t even sleep properly Please return my money Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Misleading on-line page. Don't book this hotel.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: The location was right for me. I had no car and so I stayed where I had booked. Housekeeping staff was friendly.
Cons: The building needs extensive repair...maybe tearing down and starting again would be better.
Location: There are nice walking trails along the Rideau and the cemetery where my uncle's funeral was held was very close. Some inexpensive restaurants, too.
The online page for this hotel/motel is very misleading. I was prompted to "hurry and book; only 5 rooms left' when upon arrival I discovered that the hotel was mostly empty and has really ceased to function. You can get a room, but the building has been damaged by rain and there are buckets in the hallways to catch dripping water. The odor was quite strong, of smoke and mildew everywhere and there was visible mold where the water damage had occurred. Quite insalubrious. There was one towel in the room, sporadic warm water from the taps, and very little indication that the place was serviceable. My bed linen was clean. I stayed two nights, just because the location worked and I thought I could tough it out. I think Expedia should de-list the Ottawa Plaza Inn. You don't want to be recommending it to travellers, who will then associate your brand with this experience. The room could be locked, but I was on the ground floor and the windows did not lock. Two friendly staff were doing their best to make something work, but this establishment has nothing to recommend it. It may have once been a nice place, but it's day is done. I think it survives now by renting out parking space to downtown workers, as the lot was full during the day and empty at night,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely disgusting.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Demolish it.
Location: Nothing
This place should be condemned. Disgusting is an understatement. No heat, no hot water. Light bulbs unscrewed in hallways. Disgusting dirty towels, shower curtain. Tried to get another hotel but too short notice. I will be trying to get my money back. Stay away at all costs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Cons: renovation, pest control, maintenance
The room I was initially assigned to was infested with bedbugs behind the headboard. I had to bring it up to the front desk twice before they reluctantly changed my room (I was told there weren’t any vacant rooms the first time). While the staff was friendly and considered a compensation (which wasn’t possible because I had booked it through Expedia), my biggest concern is that there wasn’t a sense of urgency or confirmation that the room was going to be maintained at all. To be completely honest, the hotel is abysmal considering the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Needs major overhaul

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Damp mold smell throughout. Finishes delaminating due to some sort of water problem history throughout. Back common entrance door has no lock/security. Took 20 minutes at 10am to get hot water for shower, was actually lukewarm, but didn't have time to wait. I paid $130 for one night, way, way overpriced for the quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sask.

Close to downtown

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed at, would not recommend this to anyone. Poor housekeeping.
1 out of 5
by Marc

awful hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
nothing good with this hotel,no attractions nearby,old old old hotel,needs complete reno,no light in washroom,only one towel provided, the hallway is dirty,dont bother,the charge was to much for this hotel
1 out of 5
by Judith

Bed Bugs infested Room

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
We reached the hotel at around 10 pm and were so tired traveling and shifting my son to the residence. Unfortunately, there were no rooms available this particular day and we had to stay in this bed bugs infested room. Our stay was horrible and unacceptable. The room was filled with bed bugs. One of the family members had to leave the room and sleep in the car as he is allergic to bed bugs. Pathetic situation! I emailed the management and asked for a refund. This evening one of the hotel members called in and said, the GM is willing to give a discount on our next stay! After the trauma this stay has caused, will I stay in this hotel again? No way.