Ratings based on 1,549 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel versus university residence?

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: had two separate sleeping rooms
Cons: cheapest thinnest toilet paper i have ever come across in the world.....even worse than poor third world country hotels...surely you can afford an upg
Location: hard to find....if they had set out it was part of the university....could have found it easier...even taxi drivers with gps were a bit uncertain
not clear at booking that this is basically a university residence used as lodging after the school year ends....thought a bit misleading to call it a "convention centre " certainly helps to make it misleading
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice to have two separate beds and tv

Posted May 6, 2017
I would stay here again. I booked through expedia.ca and check in and checkout were a breeze. It was nice having a microwave and fridge although I only stayed for one night. If I have to come to Ottawa to stay for more than a night I would stay here since I travel with a caregiver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton

Second Time Around

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the downtown, (Uber in and Uber out of Biward Market). Amenities are great. On the grouds of Saint Paul University
Cons: If you do not have a map app to give you directions it is easy to get lost
Location: On the grouds of Saint Paul University. A few restaurant and café in walking distance.
I found this little gem of a space on a cold rainy winters day last December. It has amenities and two beds in two rooms. The cost is very modest and its proximity to the city is close. I have been satisfied on both occasions. I am in Ottawa quarterly and plan to use this facility when I am here on business and for pleasure. To use an expression, I find this place "the best bang for my buck". I needed a place to sleep and get cleaned up, this hit the spot
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster ontario

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The staff were very nice and friendly. You need a car to move around for sure I will be going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Relaxing

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The staff
Staff was cheerful even though the hour was extremely late for checking in. The rooms were clean and a surprise as there were 2 separate rooms in the 1 suite so we did not have to worry about disturbing each other during the night. When it came to checking out with all our flowers the staff was accommodating and helpful. A very pleasant place to spend the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ontario

Easy to get to. Central.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Quiet. Free coffee in the morning. Pleasant staff. Only negative, have to pay 10 dollars for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ON

Staffs are great! Room is clean!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
It's in university campus,so if you are looking for high end hotel, this is not the choice. But all i need is simple and clean night stay which is perfect. The only part i don't like is you have to pay parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I stayed with my wife and two kids. It was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Charles, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic, clean and safe

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Basic clean and safe - close to downtown if you have a car
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Charles, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are close enough to the downtown core that you could take a short cab or even transit. We agree though if you have your own car you can come and go as you please, and see other locations that are outside of the downtown core.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Sparse rooms - you get what you pay for.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Price was good but turned out to be right for what we got.
Cons: Advertising inc. signposting. The address does not appear on Apple Maps - having the reception staff tell me on arrival that google has it doesnt help
Location: Hidden behind university. Short drive to Ottawa. Close to buses.
The hotel is hidden behind a university, which makes sense when you realise it is the university residence. The signs on the street suggest the same thing. Once inside, it's clean, but the list of departure instructions in the lift remind you that it's a student residence. The rooms are warm and clean, but have no in room amenities. When the listing says there is a fridge and a microwave in the kitchenette, that's true. There is nothing else. The toiletries were nice, and the front desk staff were excellent. The free coffee in the morning (only available in the lobby) was really weak. Finally, the soundproofing is non-existent. We could hear everything, both from above and around us. I booked it thinking it would be like a serviced apartment, and was disappointed. If it had been clear it was a university residence, i'd have been less surprised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Charles, Hotel Management
Hello Squeaky, Thank you for your time in writing a review. I am glad that you feel that our residence is well priced. I would like thank you in your review for mentioning we are a university residence - this will help future guests know that we are hotel alternative accommodations.