Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Overall building is rundown. First impression of this place was the musty air. Rooms and bathrooms are outdated. Bathrooms were very cramped and moldy. Main bathroom smelled like urine. Basement bedroom and bathroom ceiling is no more than 6' ft high. Amenities stated central air, not true, just open the windows. Free parking means street parking. Owners told us they wouldn't enter into our space once keys were exchanged. In the night we all heard 2 sets of footsteps enter into the livingroom to turn off the lights. I left them on for an elderly family member. We all noticed spiders and cobwebs in the bedrooms. Beds were shifty and creaked a lot. Bed linens didn't feel fresh and clean. No one slept well due to the musty smell. The air was too stuffy. Only consolation was the scones the Mrs. made us in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cycling

Posted Sep 30, 2015
We spent a week cycling in the surroundings of Ottawa. This B+B is the ideal location for cycling since it is located right between the Rideau Canal and the Rideau River. Phone Ottawa tourist info, they'll send you an excellent bike maps or pick one up, also available at Gatineau/Hull tourist info. Furthermore it is close to the Bank street which offers many restaurants of different kinds, and also a Whole Foods Market emphasizing healthy food very close. The room is relatively small but very well equipped (computer, TV and large TV in the sitting room), dishes, free N-American phone calls). Also a couple of minutes' walk to Carleton University.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

bad experience ever

Posted Dec 19, 2011 on Hotels
this is not really hotel. some one don't what to live in their apartment and would like to earn money. I was told for twins bed but there was single bed. Bed and cover sheet was really bad shape. room conditions also very darty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by JW, Hotel Management
This comment originated from an attempt to provide affordable hostel style accommodation in the "Annex". It was a failure so we sold the place for an exorbitant amount of money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, Ottawa

Posted Oct 7, 2011 on Hotels
I understand the minimalist approach but this more a "spartan "approach . Only chair to sit on in the room was an inexpensive office chair with arms ,nothing comfortable to sit on beside the bed. The desk light did not work, the closets were without doors, there was no television or common room with any real ammenities and the single bed was of questionnable comfort. For an extra $10 to $20.00; I will stay in a regular hotel the next time. I was definitely "underwhelmed".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Not so delightful

Posted Jun 1, 2011 on Hotels
I stayed at the Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast for the Ottawa Marathon weekend. The location was great and the neighbourhood quite cute which I loved. However it was not what I expected to stay in based on the price I paid. The owners were quite splendid but everything else was pretty budget. We were put in a basement room, the lights flickered when we turned it on, toilet barely flushed, couldn't stand up fully in the washroom, one tiny window and the television(although we never used it) was in the closet. I thought the breakfast might make up for it but it was very small and basic which I'm not used to from past stays at B and B's. It could be a great spot of the whole place was updated and served a better breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Convenient location but overpriced!

Posted May 17, 2011 on Hotels
Small room, would have been NO privacy if other guests had been staying there at the same time! The common living room is right outside the bedroom door! Furnishing need updating and the room was not very clean. Bathroom was fine. Breakfast was nice and the hosts were very hospitable.
3 out of 5
by Geneviève from Québec, Canada

B & B assez ordinaire

Posted May 28, 2013
B & B sans réel cachet mais qui est pratique car près du centre ville dans un petit quartier résidentiel calme.