Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

HOTEL NICE BUT!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: ROOM BREAKFEST
Cons: BEETER INTERNET SERVICE
Location: STARVE ROCK PARK CLOSE WAS NICE
ROOM GOOD BREAKFEST GOOD BUT NO INTERNET SERVCE CHECK IN SAT DAY HAD TO CONNECT TO MY OFFICE NO INTERNET I HAD TO GO AND SIT AT A RESTRANT FOR HOURS SO I COULD GET ME WORK DONE WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF I WAS ABLE TO DO THE WORK IN MY 140.00 A NIGHT ROOM THE GIRLS AT DEST WERE CONCERNED BUT DIDNT OFFER ME ANY IDEAS TO CONNECT SOME WHERE FREE I MIGHT STAY THERE AGAIN BUT I WOULD NEED TO BE ASSURED THAT INTERNET WAS WORKING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Colleen - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.I was glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and your room was to your liking. I am however sorry that you had issues with our High-Speed Fiber Optic internet. I would however like you to make sure that you are reviewing the correct hotel because the rate you quoted in this review is not our rate. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

Name is misleading.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The name of the hotel is misleading, Super 8- Starved Rock. It is very far from Starved Rock. However, I should have looked at the map. It is not near anything but there are two local cab companies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. I would like to start by saying that we are located 18 minutes from Starved Rock State Park.As you probably noticed on your visit to Starved Rock State Park that there are no major hotel chains located in or really near that area. This is to preserve the beauty of the park. Our Super 8 in Ottawa, Illinois is conveniently located so our guests are able to enjoy all four State Parks that our area has to offer. We are also located within walking distance from shopping and restaurants and a short cab ride down our hill will bring you into the center of our beautiful town. Again our hotels are located near the interstate to preserve the beauty of our quaint little town that has so much to offer. I hope that you will come back and see for yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff, room was comfortable.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Close to I-80
Cons: Better fitting sheets or ones that don't ride up.
Location: Go to Starved Rock Lodge for a real treat. Its a great older lodge but has many cool totem pole type carvings to enjoy and a great gift shop.
Nice hotel at a reasonable price. Halls were very warm but room was very comfortable. Very busy that night but everything went fine. Fitted sheet on bed keep riding up, so we did have to deal with that. Breakfast was fine but limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Colleen Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Sounds like you had a wonderful visit to Starved Rock. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel rooms to be comfortable and reasonably priced. Our Housekeeping Staff will address the problems you had experienced with the sheets. I am glad that you were able to have breakfast with us and I hope you enjoyed the waffles, sausage, 2 types of cereal, English muffins as well as the white and wheat bread for toasting, peanut butter, jelly, cream cheese and raspberry danish, oat meal as well as the coffee, tea, hot chocolate and the apple and orange juices. We look forward to your next visit with us. Happy Travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for us, clerks were very helpful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I am a disabled veteran and the room initially assigned to us would not accomodate my wheelchair. They moved us into a suite at no additional charge. It was very comfortable. The breakfast was better than that at most motels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy that my front desk attendant was able to help you. I am glad that you found the suite to be comfortable. Thank you again for chosing our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Quick overnight stay

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The room was so clean it smelled of cleaning chemicals and it irritated my daughters nose, the front desk staff was not overly nice but not rude either, the housekeepers knocked on my door at 7:30 am and woke me up from a sound sleep glad my dead bolt was locked, overall though it was a decent hotel clean, Decently cozy beds ect
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be nice. I do however want to apologize for the smell of cleaning products in your room as well as your door being knocked on a 730am. I will talk to the housekeeping staff about the cleaning products that they are using and see if we can find another product that perhaps will do the job without any harsh odors. As for the knock on your door at 730am, I will have to assume it was another guest seeing how our housekeeping staff does not start work until 900am. We do hope you will visit us again if you are ever in our area. Happy Travels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Unfortunately had to evacuate in the morning due to a gas leak. The staff made sure we were all safe and did an excellent job in communicating to everyone what was happening. Once the gas company fixed the leak and made sure everyone was safe we were allowed back in. The staff made what could have been a bad situation very good.i would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for your review. I want to thank you and all of our customers who were in our hotel at the time for their calmess and understanding of the situation. I am so proud of my staff for all their efforts during the gas leak. Thank you again for chosing our Super 8.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pocahontas, IL

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This hotel was great! Check in was super easy and the staff was very nice. The rooms were clean and big. They had a nice breakfast that was included in the room price. We recommend this hotel and will stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Colleen Front Office Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect rating. I am so glad that you found our hotel rooms to be clean and big and that you also enjoyed our breakfast. Our staff definitely enjoys making each of our guests feel welcomed at all times. We look forward to your next stay. Happy Travels!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Nice hotel- just what we needed for a quick trip.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Easy to find, not too far from interstate. Quiet, clean, efficient. The hotel staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you found our location easy to find, that our Super 8 to be clean, quiet and my front desk staff made you feel welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super clean Super 8

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: comfortable, clean and quiet
Cons: Breakfast was okay, not great; the coffee didn't taste very good and had some grounds in it
We where very pleased with our stay. This was the nicest Super 8 motel I've ever been in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for your review. I am glad you found our Super 8 to be comfortable, clean and quiet. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay and that you found our hotel to be the nicest Super 8 that you have stayed in.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Good value, great town.

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Sarah at front desk was great. So was housekeeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will pass along your compliment to my front desk attendant Sarah and to my entire housekeeping staff. I have a great staff who work very hard for me. We want all our guest to enjoy their over night stays with us.