Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Metamora

Great hotel for the price

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the friendly, caring staff
Location: Staved Rock State Park; Matheisson State Park, Historic Downtown Ottawa
Almost everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. It is a standard Super 8, but very well managed. The staff was superb--friendly and courteous, and the rooms were nice-smelling and the bathroom clean. I was especially impressed with the quality of the towels. The only problem I encountered was at check out my card was rejected. It took 30 minutes and a call to my bank to resolve the issue. The problem was not with my bank or the motel, and remains a mystery. However, the front desk staff was very patient and helpful. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois exceeded your expectations. I am happy that you found my staff to be friendly and courteous. I will pass on your compliments to my entire staff, they work very hard for me and we all enjoy hearing that we made our customers enjoy their stay with us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Charles, MO

Our stay

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness.
This was one of the cleanest and most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed at. I recommend it to everyone without any reservation! A great buy for the money!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for your compliments. My entire staff from the Front desk, Housekeeping and Maintenance dept. work very hard on keeping our hotel to the standards our customers want to receive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us 4 out of 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right off I 80

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Clean comfortable nice experience for a super8 hotel. Good breakfast/coffee. Nice staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you found our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois to be clean and comfortable. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and you found my staff to be friendly.
4 out of 5
by Mr. Terry from Penetanguishene

very clean

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean hotel and friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I am glad that you found our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois to be very clean and you found my staff to friendly. I hope that you continue to use Super 8's on your travels.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Wisconsin

Simple stay

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice and clean hotel. Shower was too cold tho. Low flow faucet too. Only complaint I had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
i wanted to thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our hotel to be nice and clean. I am sorry to read about the shower temperature being to cold, I am having my maintenance dept check the room that you stayed in to have them correct the temperature problem and the flow of water coming from the faucet. I know that you had your choice of hotels in our area and I am glad that you chose ours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good Overnight Stop

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Hotel is getting old - keep upgrading.
Good value along I-80. This hotel is showing its age, but seems well maintained. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Room was big and clean - bathroom was tiny and clean. Breakfast was what you'd expect and fresh, plus it was open earlier than posted 6:00 time, which was good for us. Decent value for the rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found us to be a good value along I-80. I am always proud to say that our Super 8 of Ottawa is 27 years old. We have an owner who lives locally and takes great pride in his Super 8 we have been a Pride of Super 8 for many years and the proud recipient of the award "Decades of Excellence for Customer Service and Cleanliness.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from The Quad Ciities

A Pleasant Surprise !!!!

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
After spending a fun filled day in Chicago with our 5 year old son and battling traffic on I-55, Super 8 was a pleasant surprise !! From Judy at the front desk when we arrived, offering a 10% discount to The Sunfield who would DELIVER our meal, no less, to the exceptionally clean room !!!! The only thing I would give a thumbs down to was the breakfast .... Carbs and more carbs. No protein offered and no bananas ..... WHAT ???? Everyone we came in contact with was helpful and friendly. My son says he wished there was a swimming pool but ... It's Super 8 !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I wanted to Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised at our Super 8 and I will pass on the compliment to Judy. I have to say that we do offer egg patties and sausage patties with our regular breakfast items on the weekend, and I am sorry that you missed out on those two items. I am glad that everyone that you came in contact with was helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by Don from Moline

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room was nice but much too small for two peoples luggage and not enough room for two laptops to work comfortably. Other things were ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the single queen room to be nice, but a bit smaller then what you needed for two people. I hope the next time you pass thru you might want to try our single king room. I am glad that you found the other things okay in our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great but they are remodeling

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff was great, room was clean. I wish I would have known they were remodeling, they should put a notice on their website so guests know before booking. My daughter has bad asthma and they were pulling the carpet up so all the dust and debris was terrible for her. Also, the banging noise (from the remodelig I assume) was not pleasant. Other than that, everything was clean and great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for review, I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and great. With the next phase of remodeling I will make sure that the notice is put on all the web sites that we are listed on thank you for the reminder.