Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Clean and comfortable - good breakfast. I will stay again when in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review concerning your stay with us at the Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. My staff and I look forward to your next reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Nice, Clean, Comfortable Room and Friendly Staff. The front desk staff person was very helpful. Conveniently located right off the interstate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Colleen Front Desk Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois. I was pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and conveniently located. Here at the Super 8, the entire staff goes above and beyond to ensure every guest enjoys their stay. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Happy Travels!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Nice hotel, great value

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and easy to work with. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only quibble - the breakfast serving area layout was somewhat cramped & there was a line that morning. But it moved quickly!
Location: Easy access from I-80 and relatively close to Starved Rock State Park. However the park is some miles away, not at the park.
Booked here based on other favorable reviews and am happy to report that we were not disappointed! . Overall, the hotel ranked as one of the best Super 8's we've experienced. Would definitely book there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Colleen- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at the Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois. I am so glad you found our room to be clean and comfortable as well as the staff to be friendly and easy to work with. I apologize for the cramped feeling in the breakfast room, but I am glad that the line moved along quickly for you. Our hotel is centrally located near all local attractions that our wonderful area has to offer.and we do have easy access to interstate 80. I am so glad that you were not disappointed. Again thank you for the 5-star rating and we look forward to your next visit. Happy Travels!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice hotel room. Clean, had microwave, good size refrigerator, coffee maker, blow dryer, etc. Enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Colleen- Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star rating. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to the state parks

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Totally satisfied with the stay. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Colleen B Front Desk Supervisor , Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect rating. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

HOTEL NICE BUT!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: ROOM BREAKFEST
Cons: BEETER INTERNET SERVICE
Location: STARVE ROCK PARK CLOSE WAS NICE
ROOM GOOD BREAKFEST GOOD BUT NO INTERNET SERVCE CHECK IN SAT DAY HAD TO CONNECT TO MY OFFICE NO INTERNET I HAD TO GO AND SIT AT A RESTRANT FOR HOURS SO I COULD GET ME WORK DONE WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF I WAS ABLE TO DO THE WORK IN MY 140.00 A NIGHT ROOM THE GIRLS AT DEST WERE CONCERNED BUT DIDNT OFFER ME ANY IDEAS TO CONNECT SOME WHERE FREE I MIGHT STAY THERE AGAIN BUT I WOULD NEED TO BE ASSURED THAT INTERNET WAS WORKING.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Colleen - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.I was glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and your room was to your liking. I am however sorry that you had issues with our High-Speed Fiber Optic internet. I would however like you to make sure that you are reviewing the correct hotel because the rate you quoted in this review is not our rate. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

Name is misleading.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The name of the hotel is misleading, Super 8- Starved Rock. It is very far from Starved Rock. However, I should have looked at the map. It is not near anything but there are two local cab companies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. I would like to start by saying that we are located 18 minutes from Starved Rock State Park.As you probably noticed on your visit to Starved Rock State Park that there are no major hotel chains located in or really near that area. This is to preserve the beauty of the park. Our Super 8 in Ottawa, Illinois is conveniently located so our guests are able to enjoy all four State Parks that our area has to offer. We are also located within walking distance from shopping and restaurants and a short cab ride down our hill will bring you into the center of our beautiful town. Again our hotels are located near the interstate to preserve the beauty of our quaint little town that has so much to offer. I hope that you will come back and see for yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff, room was comfortable.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Close to I-80
Cons: Better fitting sheets or ones that don't ride up.
Location: Go to Starved Rock Lodge for a real treat. Its a great older lodge but has many cool totem pole type carvings to enjoy and a great gift shop.
Nice hotel at a reasonable price. Halls were very warm but room was very comfortable. Very busy that night but everything went fine. Fitted sheet on bed keep riding up, so we did have to deal with that. Breakfast was fine but limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Colleen Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Sounds like you had a wonderful visit to Starved Rock. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel rooms to be comfortable and reasonably priced. Our Housekeeping Staff will address the problems you had experienced with the sheets. I am glad that you were able to have breakfast with us and I hope you enjoyed the waffles, sausage, 2 types of cereal, English muffins as well as the white and wheat bread for toasting, peanut butter, jelly, cream cheese and raspberry danish, oat meal as well as the coffee, tea, hot chocolate and the apple and orange juices. We look forward to your next visit with us. Happy Travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for us, clerks were very helpful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I am a disabled veteran and the room initially assigned to us would not accomodate my wheelchair. They moved us into a suite at no additional charge. It was very comfortable. The breakfast was better than that at most motels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager Karen, Hotel Management
I want to Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy that my front desk attendant was able to help you. I am glad that you found the suite to be comfortable. Thank you again for chosing our Super 8 of Ottawa, Illinois.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Quick overnight stay

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The room was so clean it smelled of cleaning chemicals and it irritated my daughters nose, the front desk staff was not overly nice but not rude either, the housekeepers knocked on my door at 7:30 am and woke me up from a sound sleep glad my dead bolt was locked, overall though it was a decent hotel clean, Decently cozy beds ect
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Colleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be nice. I do however want to apologize for the smell of cleaning products in your room as well as your door being knocked on a 730am. I will talk to the housekeeping staff about the cleaning products that they are using and see if we can find another product that perhaps will do the job without any harsh odors. As for the knock on your door at 730am, I will have to assume it was another guest seeing how our housekeeping staff does not start work until 900am. We do hope you will visit us again if you are ever in our area. Happy Travels