Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hotel is run down and in need of renovations. Staff friendly. Breakfast very minimal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iqaluit, NU

Family friendly, love the pool area

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hotel itself was very nice for and older building. Staff are very friendly and respond to issues. It was a bit noisy on first night but it was due to the customers lack of respect which I'm sure staff responded to as second night was much better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great staff, room was clean but was no Sheraton. A bit over priced for what you get. Although room was large.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay and hope that you'll visit again once our renovations have been completed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel and good location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Good location great pool. Pet friendly. Not pleasant. No mini fridge in room. Bathroom need reno. Great staff. Need a restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again once our renovations are complete! Amy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unpleasant Surprise!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Once arrived we were informed that the waterpark is ONLY open after 5pm on weekdays (even during the holidays) and during the day on the weekend. We were also told that there is an extra charge now to use the pool/slides. When they did open the waterpark, they said there were not enough lifeguards so the pool and slide were never open at the same time. Every 15 minutes they would alternate. They blamed everything on the fact that we booked through a third party and not them directly. The parking lot is STILL under construction, it's been 3 years at least. The carpets are stale and remnants of mold pretty mush everywhere in the outdated hotel. They have no problem taking extra charges but can't seem to invest in maintaining the hotel. The free continental breakfast is toast and cereal. Nothing hot... We've been many times in the past, but this was our last! Our kids still loved it....and Ottawa is a great city, but this hotel takes full advantage of it's customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We certainly hope to see you again once we complete our renovations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs renovations

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice staff---lots of things make the hotel look warn............................................. Parking lot needs to be finished
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. We certainly hope to see you again once we complete our renovations! Amy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgrading, lots of construction, lack of parking.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Friendly staff. Nice water park Lack of Parking due to construction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Townships, Quebec

Not perfect. But lots of good things.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rates, easy to reach, back door entrances for easy transport of luggage...,
Cons: Already stated: One or more fruits at breakfast, a clean microwave oven, better bed (former mattress) ...
Location: Not relevant.. We just wanted to be near our relatives.
Stayed for two nights. Pretty much, found everything okay, except for bed, which was too soft, and breakfast, which needed more than one fruit (bananas? oranges?). Real coffee, rather than instant, would also have been appreciated. Also, no one tended to the microwave, after egg explosion. On the plus side, appreciated the plain oatmeal, the dining area, friendliness of the staff, good Wifi, location, and cost.. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'll be sure to pass your comments along to our staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Pet fruendly

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Hotel was clean, staff pleasant and it is pet friendly... at an extra $75 per stay. Doesn't matter if it's one night or more. As someone who was there one night I was not impressed by this rate!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: It is near a bus stop with regular routes and the room was nice and tidy.
Cons: The tub inside needs to be replaced as there is a groove in the middle. The hotel needs some upgrading performed.
Location: The location was adequate only for the public transportation and the little shopping mall which includes a drug store that I needed.
The room was nice, but it could have been better for its price. In other words, serve a regular breakfast (like Best Western) instead of you having to make your own out of what is provided. Also, it seems that there were always conversations in the hall or whatever noise that is happening. Other than that, It was adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We are currently under renovation and hope to welcome you back soon!