Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Corrine from Sunderland

What a delight

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here overnight whilst attending a wedding nearby and wish we could have spent more time here. On dropping our bags off at 11am encountered a very helpful man on the desk who allowed us to check in and freshen up before heading to the wedding we even managed a coffee in the room - don't think he realised how grateful we were as it was going to be a long day. We only managed a few hours sleep but it was the best nights sleep I've had for a while comfy bed and very quiet. Breakfast was nice but nothing outstanding - I will definitely stay at this hotel again hopefully for a few more hours ! Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lothian

Ideal for a quiet getaway

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet and standard of accommodation
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walking, driving, Hadrians Wall, Cumbria and the lakes, Newcastle and the North Yorkshire coast, eating, drinking and chilling out.
Hotel is well sited for a quiet getaway in relaxed and comfortable surroundings. Also well situated for exploring further east or west in the north of England. Accommodation roomy and comfortable and food good. The hidden garden with pond and picnic benches was a find on a warm spring day!
4 out of 5
by stephen from Newcastle

Relaxing

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Really relaxing hotel and the area is great to escape the city....
2 out of 5
by Alan from durham

our get away..... stay away

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very dissapointed.it was evident that there was not many residents .the receptionist also served us at the bar (not a problem)we heard her leaving and we then sat for 30mnts waiting for some one to serve us .Noone did our glasses were still on the bar when we came down to dinner There was only one table set for dinner in the restaurant ,ours Sadly the meal was also a let down for the price,we actually got 4 items on the whole 2 course meal, we had hoped to stay an extra night ,but with no other pubs or amenities around the location we decided not to
5 out of 5
by Gillian

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely historic hotel, really lovely food. Great staff with excellent customer service skills. In a beautiful location. The only thing I could find faults with were minor - the log fire wasn't big enough, there were no board games to play and the Pepsi was flat. Dinner was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kind of Ok, on the whole.

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Very polite staff at check and departure. Food prices at the hotel restaurant are very high indeed at over £20 for main courses, on the whole. Wifi in my room was non existent despite advertising "wifi throughout". There was a note in the room manual stating that wifi may be affected by the thick walls of the building. Room itself was comfortable and warm. Location is pretty remote but it suited me for an overnight business stay. Overall, I would probably look for something else in the area next time.
4 out of 5
by Carey from Oklahoma

A true castle experience!

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
This castle lived up to expectations! The room was gorgeous and spacious. No lift so heavy bags were not fun lol. Still, it was fun to stay in a castle and the grounds are beautiful. There were several walking trails and a little pond and stream that you could walk down to. There are benches and picnic tables so you could just sit and enjoy the relaxing sounds. There were horses next-door grazing in the fields and that was beautiful as well. The view across the countryside was also spectacular. The food was mediocre and it is somewhat isolated so there was little choice to go somewhere else. The staff was friendly but didn't offer to help us with our bags or anything like that. You can assume you will not get any Wi-Fi there because the walls are too thick in the castle for it to work properly. There's not much cell service in that area so if you're needing to be connected this is not the place to stay. However if you want a serene getaway in an isolated beautiful location definitely stay here. That said, there was a hotel 3.6 miles from here on the top of the hill where we ate lunch. Its views were stellar...next time I'd probably stay there. All in all it was nice, depending on what you're looking for. The pristine grounds and the fact that it is a true castle with much of the original floors and walls (gorgeous oak) were the highlights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

all good

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
good room, good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Claire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels