Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who let the dogs out?

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast choices were amazing - hot food choices of eggs, biscuits/gravy, waffles along with typical cold food.
Cons: The towels have seen better days.
Location: Ottumwa is a beautiful city on the Des Moines river - I spotted about 50 white pelicans! American Gothic house (of famous painting) is 15 miles away.
This was actually a very nice hotel except for one big drawback -- it's located next door to a dog boarding kennel, so unless you enjoy hearing constant dog barking for hours at a time, I would not recommend staying here. Also of note, there is no elevator, which means a luggage cart cannot be used to haul bags to a 2nd floor room. We were there for a dance convention, had lots of extra bags for clothing, and ended up making 3 trips up the steps and down the long hallway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Located on the west side of town. Most restaurants were a bit of a drive but did find one fairly close. Enjoyed a nice swim.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

They wouldn't let me check in because I had a dog

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I clicked on the pet filter icon on your terrible website in this hotel came up. When I got there late they said they don't allow dogs so I had to go to another hotel. I called your horrible customer service and they said they will be charging me anyway so I'm disputing the charge on my credit card. I will never use Expedia again in my entire life - please cancel my account and never contact me again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Family Christmas party

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The manager Shane went above and beyond to ensure our stay and party was perfect!
Cons: Rooms could use a little updating and they need new towels but everything was clean and reasonable for the price.
The manager of this hotel was the most accommodating, helpful and hardworking employee that I have ever come across in all of my many travels. We needed a place to hold our annual Christmas party for 30 people. The manager offered to let us use the breakfast room for the private party. He allowed us to use the room for the whole weekend day and night when it was not being used for breakfast. He made us coffee to use for the party, gave us plates, utensils, etc. as needed and moved everything around to accommodate our catered meal on Saturday night. The beds were very comfortable and the showers were hot. There was ample parking and the hotel is in a convenient location right off the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Kris, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed having you here. Thank you for your continued business and we can't wait to see you next time you are in the Ottumwa area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Easy access off interstate.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Awesome rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Kris, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your continued business.
1 out of 5
by Megan from Omaha

not a great hotel! Glad it was only one night!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel manager said the rooms were not paid for. and there is a pending charge on my credit card for 1.00 and 62.42. I still have to check the other 2 rooms for charges on my family members cards. I hope that the pending transactions are taken care of and get voided out. hotel staff was kinda grumpy and seemed that we were putting them out by checking in at 9pm after a long road trip to the hotel. wifi was out, only 2 towels per room, breakfast was cereal and muffins. Unfortunately, I talked 7 other members of my family to go to same hotel.... :( not cool!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Since your stay with us we are pleased to inform you Days Inn Ottumwa has been working hard to make every guest have a great experience with us. We have new experienced management and staff to assist you when you stay. We have also been do many updates to hotel which will make your stay even better. Thank you for your business and we hope you choose Days Inn next time you are in the Ottumwa area so you can see for yourself the improvements we have made.
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Charlotte

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Decent room, staff cheerfully provided everything we needed in a timely manner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting your review. Days Inn staff is here to make each guest have an enjoyable experience during your stay and we are pleased to hear that you did. Thank you for your continued business and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Ottumwa area.
5 out of 5
by Robert from red wing mn

May Break

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and the rooms were a lot cleaner than other hotels in the area that we have previously stayed at.
Cons: Staff having the ability to cancel bookings booked from outside parties.
The hotel was very helpful when we had noticed Expedia had booked our rooms twice and booked the wrong rooms completely! They gave us the room we had originally booked and were very helpful when showing us how to cancel our other booking (that we never actually booked) so we wouldn't get charged twice. Great hotel to stay at, just wouldn't book through expedia again, such a pain in the butt. On the phone for over an hour and a half just to insure I wasn't going to be charged twice and the reservation was actually cancelled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Awkward

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Breakfast choices and quality of food.
Location: Location is awkward being on the north side of town and most things to do are on the west side.
Motel was difficult to find because the main sign was not working; staff hard to understand. Room was clean. Very noisy neighbors playing loud music all night. Breakfast was very disappointing and did not taste right. Disappointing stay.