Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice lodge, lovely grounds

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Location: Walking distance to many good restaurants,
We stayed for only one night and were happy with the large rooms and outdoor spaces. The staff were very helpful on arrival to confirm our meerkat adventure booking. There was a nice breakfast buffet with several cooked to order options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Jennifer Venancio, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to read! We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
2 out of 5
by sonette

I felt like the ugly stepsister of Cinderella!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
I felt like the ugly stepsister of Cinderella when I saw the room. I have previously stayed at the Hlangana about 10 years ago and it was exceptional. This time we got a very small unattractive room at the back of the building. The room was fitted with a double bed with a very thin inner duvet, very small bathroom with a broken shower head which made showering a big challenge and nearly impossible. It is a four star establishment but this room apart of having only a bathroom with a shower and no bathtub will surprise me it will be rated a three star room. Our view from our bedroom was onto a washing line. The coffee facilities, which we only discovered before we checked out the next day was stationed in the clothing cupboard and we therefor never saw it. There was a problem with the water which we were made aware of on checking in but I would of thought they could of put bottled mineral water out in our room for drinking purposes. The breakfast was exceptional though although you could only have breakfast until 9h00 am in the morning as oppose to 10h00 am. I don't think I will want to stay there again.
3 out of 5
by leeanne

Very Small

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The place is SO SMALL, yes it was a budget room but for R1300 a night- its not a budget price- with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen- food is good but room is really not great- even the kettle is in the cupboard- there is no plug by the table to boil it - and no space on the tv table where the plug is - so must you boil it on the floor? again- just really small for that amount of money
5 out of 5
by keith

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay. Good location near restaurants. Beautiful grounds, lovely welcome from reception. Room was very nic and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Attractive, well-run hotel.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms with comfortable beds.
Cons: The shower drain in room 12 was sluggish and reported to staff as we left. It was not really an problem and everything else was excellent.
Location: Center of ostrich farming with very enjoyable visit to one of them. Friendly people. Landscapes nearby are striking and beautiful. Excellent restaur
Only a single night's stay, but the staff were more than helpful, the rooms spacious and quiet, the grounds beautiful, and the extensive breakfast was fresh and well-prepared. We would welcome the opportunity to stay again. The countryside is beatiful and nearby restaurants were excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Oasis

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge is a hidden oasis with beautiful spacious rooms. The staff was extremely hospitable - we had a bad experience at a local restaurant, and the hotel staff brought us a bottle of sparkling wine just to send their regards. I'd definitely go back.
4 out of 5
by Mani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming

Good accommodation in Oudtshoorn

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Gardens, comfort and quiet
Location: Short drive to the town and 30 minutes to Cango Caves. Restaurants quite close. Gemima's is a good choice although may need to book.
A good find in a quiet location on edge of the town on road to Cango Caves. Lovely gardens and accommodation with comfortable bed and large bathroom. Difficult to fault. Breakfasts very good and staff welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
by John from Lutterworth

Family. Holiday

Posted Mar 3, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed two night's should have stayed longer
5 out of 5
by tracey from Winchester

An oasis of calm

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely setting just out of town, short walk to a couple of restaurants. Bathroom slightly dated and soap dispensers annoying as fixing to wall stopped plunger working but minor gripe! Wi-fi not strong but adequate.