Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Shane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Cango Caves but would not stay again.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Stayed one night as we were visiting the Cango Caves the next day. A very disappointing stay for a Protea Hotel. l Room was very old and tired. Booked a room with king bed but got a room with two double beds. When I inquired, I was told to speak to manager who would be there the next morning. Didn't help our situation that night so didn't bother. Light outside was not working so was very dark and hard to get into room. Water in bathroom was brown, so used our own bottled water as none was provided. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which was just okay. Unfortunately would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by John

Hotel responded effectively to my concerns.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I was disappointed when we checked in at the small size of the room and, particularly, that there was no fridge, as we had fresh items with us from our previous hotels, which all had fridges. I received a feedback form from Hotels.com and wrote on it that I would have liked a fridge. I didn't think anyone read these reviews but, when we returned from a day out, there was a fridge in our room and a very courteous letter from the management. I had also mentioned poor wifi from the night before and the letter said that they had tried to address this. It certainly was improved. Although it would have been good to have a fridge and working wifi from the outset, I was very impressed with the hotel's responsiveness to my concerns and would like to place my thanks on record.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good central area. The menu prices too expensive. Supper is about R250 a meal per person while breakfast R165 a head. Bathroom not very clean. Very limited internet connection if at all. It is not a 3 star hotel, would consider it more of a 2 star accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Serene

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent Service, food was superb, chef prepared lamb chops and ostrich fillet, wow! Friendly pleasant staff. Room had a unique rondavel shape. Clean and very comfortable. Quiet tranquil site feels like country but is in town. Very sercure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Angelo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Patricia from Cape Town

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean and the beds were comfortable. Nice and quite and service was very good. Bathrooms a bit dated but all was very clean.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Good location for what we were doing. Excellent staff. Restaurant food was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Juanita from Durbanville

Great Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
The location is perfect. Everything was clean, from Reception to Room. Staff great!!! Will recommend it to anyone travelling to Oudtshoorn.