Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

Still the best

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: exquisite vintage charm.
Having traveled to Ouray multiple times since this hotel was the "pink Elephant" (a great pre-restoration story, I am glad to say that it still holds up standards after ownership change and about 15 years since restoration. Just a gem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Rooms, location.
Cons: Breakfast, access to outside courtyard for breakfast or evening drinks.
Lovely looking hotel, the restoration has been done very tastefully. The rooms are very spacious and the location is great. The breakfast was a bit uninspiring, self serve with no variation each day. They have a beautiful courtyard but this did not appear to be open to residents only for functions.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Would return!

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Delightful stay in an historic building. Service was perfect, room was comfortable, breakfast was fine.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Air Conditioning System Inadequate

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Great old hotel. Only problem is the air conditioning system. Our room would not cool below 72 degrees. Most of the time the temp was 74-75. It was 75 at 9:30 one night. Spent two (2) sleepless nights and cancelled the third booked night. Hotel staff would not acknowledge the AC problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Fabulous!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Luxurious comfort. Immaculate. Historic!
Cons: More counter tops in the bathroom. Half of the staff un-attentive and glacial.
Location: Historic CO mountain town. Great outdoor activities. Hot springs. Great restaurants. Stunning mountain vistas.
In my Top 3 most fantastic renovated historic hotels in CO! A Colorado mountain lodging with central air!!! Amazing! Every detail of the room was perfect. Stayed in the Gold Rush room. Quiet and luxuriously comfortable. Lovely place. Made our stay in Ouray very special!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Wonderfully renovated historical building.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The historical decor was wonderful. The room was quiet and well appointed.
Cons: The continental breakfast could be better promoted as more than just a sweet roll and coffee. We were surprised at the variety of food items offered.
Location: The hotel is located right on Main Street in the heart of the city. Hot mineral springs, shopping, restaurants, water falls, and hiking are close.
We totally enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Located right on Main Street made it as easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We would definitely stay again should we visit the city again.
5 out of 5
by Renee

Great place to stay.

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable and quiet stay. Lovely hotel and the staff was very accommodating. Good parking experience, since they have dedicated parking spaces for the hotel. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand restoration in beautiful town of Ouray, CO

Posted May 29, 2017
A very comfortable, well restored old hotel. They forgot that travelers in this century need convenient places to plug things in. But, other than that, we recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like Hillary

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
This is the Hillary Clinton of hotels. You will love it or hate it.