Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

China Clipper is outstanding!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Imagine coming outside on a 15 degree morning after a big snow to clean your car off, only to discover that the owners had already done it for you!
Location: Main Street is a block away with many shops and eateries, and the Box Canyon (home of ice climbing) is a 15 minute walk.
Hans and Ingrid (the owners) went out of their way to be sure we took advantage of all the amenities they offer - this is an outstanding B&B and we highly recommend it. It's in a great location within walking distance to all that Ouray has to offer. We've stayed in 5 or 6 places in Ouray, but this is the only one we'll book in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christoph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
The couple who run this place and the rooms are excellent. So nice and so wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Littleton

October stay in Ouray

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
We've stayed in several B&Bs over the last year, a couple of good ones, most are so-so, a few that ought to get out of the business. This is the second best B&B experience we've had! Really nicely kept, friendly, a block off of main street. The breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Boulder, CO

Exquisite decor but a little short on coffee

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms and public spaces are beautifully decorated with antiques or reproductions consistent with the clipper ship theme and period. One might think it was located on Nantucket or Cape Cod. However, the bathroom was very mundane. One problem though was that the four poster bed was very high and difficult to get into. The inn keeper laughed when I commented that a step stool was called for, but in fact I saw one in another room as I was departing. All rooms really need that equipment if they all have the same high beds. The breakfast was good and quite varied in its offerings but not really special. Only at breakfast was coffee available. At other times guests could make tea from tea bags but not coffee. No coffee maker in the rooms. In my opinion, a single serving coffee maker is called for in the communal space. The location is central, just one street away from the main street on which the restaurants are located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

High end boutique B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable, well located, professional B&B. Welcoming helpful owners. good breakfast with ample choice. We prefer a separate bathroom( bath in the bedroom) Pillows a bit firm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great First B&B Experience

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Our favorite parts about this B&B were the owners, the location, the ambience of a B&B, the library, and the breakfast.
Cons: Our room was nice enough, but I could see it getting some TLC.
Location: Lower Cascade Falls Perimeter Trail Mouses Chocolates & Coffee Bon Ton (fancy restaurant) Ouray Brewery (great beer, great view, overpriced food)
The China Clipper Inn was our first B&B experience, and it was a very good one. The inn is quaint, has an outdoor hot tub (we didn't use it), an incredibly nice staff (the couple who owns it lives right across the street), and a tasty breakfast. The room we stayed in was on the main floor, outside by the hot tub (might have been room #7?). The room wasn't insanely nice or anything, but did the trick. My main concern about B&B's was that while I like other people, I don't like being forced to talk to them. I felt very comfortable at the China Clipper, and it wasn't concern. My favorite part of the stay had to be talking to the owners in the morning and getting the low down on an awesome place to hike that was much less touristy than the place we were originally planning to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wayne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet from Aurora CO

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hospitality and food from Innkeepers. Perfect location. I recommend this Inn highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia from Grand Junction, CO

China Clipper Inn - Fantastic place to stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
The China Clipper Inn was fantastic! The decor and building was beautiful and historic. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.