Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Late 1880's hotel with comfort updates.
Cons: Wonderful.
Location: Ouray is a wonderful town with outdoor activities close by, wonderful restaurants, beautiful setting!!
Friendly Staff, beautiful decor, wonderful homemade breakfast, all wonderful!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

nightmare

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The front desk informed me upon scribal that they did not have a room s said the did not get my reservation, they told me that Expedia overbooked the
Cons: The front desk informed me upon scribal that they did not have a room s said the did not get my reservation, they told me that Expedia overbooked the
Location: The front desk informed me upon scribal that they did not have a room s said the did not get my reservation, they told me that Expedia overbooked the
The front desk informed me upon scribal that they did not have a room s said the did not get my reservation, they told me that Expedia overbooked the room and turned me away without a room, I was away with my good friend and felt I really let her down. I will never use Expedia again and I have been a long time booker with them, my lady trip to Michigan was derailed after my car reservation was screwed up. Something has. Hanged for the worse with Expedia, when I did try to call for help , my call was answered by a rep in another country I couldn't even understand , I really don't need this anymore ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great with minor problems.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Hightlights were great location and mingling with other guests. Downlights were older worn mattresses and lukewarm breakfasts plus unavailability of coffee until 8am, a minor inconvenience. However given upscale prices it would be nice to have a good bed and coffee available before 8am. Easy fixes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautifully restored historic hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The staff was very friendly. Breakfasts were delicious and happy hour was a welcome surprise. The only reason I didn't give all 5's is that our room had a faucet that wouldn't turn off unless you positioned it JUST SO and the bathroom had some loose baseboards that could use some attention. But it was very clean and comfortable and a great location. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well maintained, excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Hotel staff excellent, great breakfast, nice room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maitland, FL

Overlanding Interlude

Posted Aug 25, 2017
My wife and I were on a two week overlanding trip with five other jeeps from Florida. After a week on the trails we took a two night break. We loved everything about the hotel stay. It was quiet and historical. Breakfast was awesome each morning. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monticello UT

Ambiance

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: It was a joy to stay there, I liked how Quaint and how it made you feel you just stepped back in to the past.
Cons: Maybe a Coffee Bar before breakfast starts (in case you are are up before Breakfast)
Location: Ouray is a small town. You can just stroll down the street and see Waterfalls and visit all kinds of unique and affordable shops. Beautiful!
The service was outstanding, full of Charm. The St. Elmo takes you back in to the past, takes you back in time, with stylish etiquite and comfort. We loved the experience at St. Elmo Hotel and would stay there again and time we go to Ouray. St. Elmo Hotel was quiet and Quaint. The Breakfast was Awsome. All I can say is Stay there and you will be amazed!
5 out of 5
by Yvonne

Good Times in Ouray

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, Great Town, Great People!
5 out of 5
by Judy

Lovely spot right in town.

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely old hotel, which is now a B&B. All rooms upstairs. Great staff. Wonderful, homemade, generous breakfasts. Regular, good fare. Each day has the standards, but, in addition, we were served homemade quesadillas and chile rellenos (which were baked, and not deep fried). All outstanding. It's a pretty place right on the main drag. Great. Not handicapped accessIble.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by david, Hotel Management
Thanks see y'all next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A Hotel with Character and Charm

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We stayed two nites in this boutique hotel in downtown Ouray. Great experience, the room was comfortable clean and quiet. Morning breakfast was outstanding. The owner hosts the happy hour at 4pm and we enjoyed the conversation and insights on guest that have stayed there over the past 100+ years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by david, Hotel Management
Thank you see y'all next time!!