Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Margaret

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location

Posted May 18, 2016
Only drawback is the 17km access road through Luintra. Narrow and dangerous.
4 out of 5
by Richard D. from USA

Well worth the effort to find

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
This parador is a real "find," literally. It is a stunningly restored monastery set in a remote location high above the river Sil but it could benefit from better and more frequent signage along the two narrow and winding roads leading to it. Given its location, the restaurant is surprisingly good. Other than the difficulty in finding it via the road from Ourense, my only quibble is that the old stone doors to our room were too low for someone of my height and I cut my head leaving the room when the lights went out immediately after removing the room card from its slot. Still, we very much enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading advertising and poor customer service

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is set in a beautiful location in a historic building. The restaurant was great and we really enjoyed our meal there. However, our overall impression is that the hotel staff just don't care. We booked this hotel as a special treat for ourselves and were really looking forward to using the spa facilities after a long day's drive. We then discovered: (1) use of the spa facilities which feature so heavily in its advertising is NOT included in the price. Guests must pay an extra surcharge per day just to use the spa area. Of course treatments are extra but we were stunned that the expensive room price did not even include dipping your toe in the spa. This is blatant misleading advertising. (2) The spa facilities are only open for short periods of time, seemingly 17:00 - 21:00 weekdays and 10:00 - 17:00 on weekends. We find it unbelievable that a place which advertises a 'full service spa' only opens for 4 hours a day weekdays. (3) The spa facilities were completely closed on the weekend we were there because they had decided to do some random maintenance. When we expressed our disappointment, the reception staff actually laughed as if this was funny. When we complained further, they just shrugged their shoulders. You don't have to be a guest to visit the church and building for free or to use the restaurant and that's what we'd advise anyone else to do. Stay in another hotel nearby for a much better price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far and very scary drive up the mountain

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The Parador signs on the way to the hotel were not very frequent and the hotel is hard to get to. The drive was quite scary as the 2 way street only fit 1 car and there were no railings on the precipice of the road...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maravillosa Experiencia

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: la ubicación es excelente , el confort del Hotel es muy bueno y el ambiente en general agradable y suntuoso a la vez
Cons: el pan de la cena.El menú correcto , pero el pan , en un lugar donde en general el pan es excelente, el de la cena del Hotel no era bueno.
Location: Cerca del Catamarán del Sil ,Pasarela del Río Mao ,Monasterio de San Pedro de Rocas y Sta Cristina de Rivas de Sil
Capitaneando la Ribeira Sacra este Hotel nos mete en el interior de la más agradable de las forestas monásticas. Una restauración de lujo para un monumento histórico , magníficas vistas desde las bien aisladas ventanas .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by jefe de recepción , Hotel Management
Estimado cliente Muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios Tomamos nota de sus sugerencias Un saludo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnífico hotel en un lugar idílico

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Es uno de los mejores Paradores que he visitado. Su estado de conservación es excelente y el trato del personal es exquisito.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Jefe de Recepción , Hotel Management
Muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios Esperamos verles muy pronto Un saludo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torrelodones

Excelente ubicación y comodidad como en casa

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Muy bien situado para visitar monasterios, bodegas y lugares singulares de la Ribeira Sacra. He dormido mejor que en casa.