Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Very good hotel in Ouro Preto. Extremely helpful staff helped us with everything (meal suggestions, what to see, etc). There's a van service to take guests to the city center. It's a 3-5 minute ride but critical because of the elevation of the town. Very good breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brasilia, Brazil

Conveniently located for car travellers

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Very good location and decoration. Very kind staff. The van service to the city is perfect.
Cons: Wi-fi could be faster, but staff told us they are working on it.
Location: Just a few miles from Ouro Preto city center. Not far from Mariana, another beautiful historic city.
Since I arrived Ouro Preto by car, and parking in the narrow streets of the historic city is very difficult, I was very happy to be able to leave the car parked at Pousada do Arcanjo and use the van service to and from the main square (Praça Tiradentes) in Ouro Preto, just a few minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marina Del Rey, California

Appealing hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
I very much enjoyed staying at the Pousado do Arcanjo. The property is attractive and has a lot of nice traditional touches. The staff was friendly and willing to fight through their imperfect English (and my worse Portuguese). My room was large, as was the bathroom. The mini-bar was stocked with some interesting local items. WiFi worked great. The bed and bedding were a little dated, but not a problem. I liked the location of the hotel, an easy walk from the bus station--and importantly in Ouro Preto--with little change in elevation if you are carrying your bag. The hotel offers a complimentary van to the bus station or town center, but I never used it. The walk to the center takes about 15 minutes and is downhill. (The uphill walk back wasn't too taxing, I found, although Ouro Preto has some VERY steep climbs and descents). Breakfast at the hotel was great. My favorite thing about the hotel is the complimentary afternoon tea, served from 5 pm to 7 pm, replete with tasty cakes and snacks. A nice break before dinner after a long day of touring up and down the local hillsides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We traveled to Ouro Preto for the weekend but had reservations with months in advance. Pousada do Arcanjo is a great place to stay, the staff is very helpful and kind, and the accommodations are outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful, quaint colonial style hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Lovely hotel with great décor. Room was spacious, well stocked and very clean. Free breakfast buffet.
Location: Free shuttle to/from town and bus terminal. Make request 20-30 minutes in advance and confirm. You can walk, but steep hills and not good night walk.
Some of the staff spoke English and was helpful providing directions and information about places we wanted to visit. We hung out in the lobby and there are useful and interesting reading materials available to read about the town. Great stay. Breakfast buffet was plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Atendimento, instalações, tudo ótimo.
Cons: Ampliar as opções do cardápio do restaurante.
Location: Apesar ficar um pouco distante do centro (1 km), onde estão as principais atrações, o translado do hotel supera este pormenor.
Ótimos atendentes, em especial nossa referência ao Benício. Ótimas acomodações, tudo fabuloso.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria - RS

Aconchegante

Posted Jan 20, 2016
O hotel é muito confortável, com destaque para os funcionários, sempre muito educados e atenciosos, e para o serviço de transporte gratuito de ida e volta até a praça Tiradentes. Com certeza, indicamos o Arcanjo para quem busca conforto e tranquilidade em seus dias na linda Ouro Preto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vicosa-MG

Hotel agradável, silencioso.

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Eu e minha família ficamos maravilhados com o hotel Pousada do Arcanjo. Hotel muito bem decorado, silencioso e limpo. Excelente time de serviço, parabéns ao Fábio, Benício, Geraldo, Gustavo e aos outros funcionários. Agradecemos por fazer destes quatro dias um momento inesquecível. Com certeza voltaremos a Ouro Preto e esse será o nosso porto seguro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel com servico excelente, atmosfera e charme

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Equipe, cafe da tarde, acomodacao
Location: Localizado perto do centro com servico de transporte, perfeito.
Muito bom, a equipe do hotel e simpatica demais, tudo foi execlente!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SP

Ótimo hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Ótimo hotel, equipe muito boa, em especial o funcionário Benicio.