Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facility and great for your money

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Excellent location...a bit dated but wonderful setting, plenty of space and clean.with amazing welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok. Can be better with attention & quality care.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Ask how far u r from the ocean. Ask how clean your room is. What can be done about the bugs & nats? Rooms must be delivered at the right time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Huge property. If you like to walk alot, then this

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Huge property. If you are a walker, this place is for you. Depending on room #, you could be hauling up 4-5 flights of stairs daily. Long walk to indoor pool, even longer walk to outdoor pool and beach. We chose to drive everywhere. If you are close to one, you are really far from the others. Villa was very clean and spacious. We had to leave our four legged family friend at home, NO DOGS ALLOWED!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, VA

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great place! Condos are very clean and have plenty of room for guests. The decor is outdated but cleaned and comfortable. Indoor and outdoor pool with private beach access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Thanksgiving on the Beach

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Location, location., location
Cons: Some of the interior furnishings are in serious need of being updated.
Location: Lotsnof great shops and nearby restaurants!
No better place to be than on the OBX for Thanksgiving, and even better being in Duck where I can walk to and on the Beach in a couple of minutes fro my condo!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Barrier Island Station. The apartments are very nice and reasonable even through the main season. There is a direct access to the beach. Also the sound with its beautiful walkway, stores, and restaurants is just a walk away. We definitely will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo complex next to beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Cons: Updating the indoor areas
Nice condo resort on the beach. They are updating the outside of the condos. The inside is the same but nice. For the money ,t I got a lot of room that i couldn't get in a regular hotel. The indoor pool and rec center is dated. The outdoor pool is great! Wish the snack bar has longer hours and was open on Sundays! I would go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Love the location, the price, the great view of the Sound and the short distance to the beach. The pools and hot tub were great. We just loved it!
Cons: The floors in the room were very uneven with a few soft spots that really need to be fixed. Also the couches were uncomfortable and worn.
Location: Being right in the center of Duck we were close to shopping, food, bars and activities on the sound. We loved parasailing!
We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids loved having their own rooms and the balcony views were awesome. We even got the chance to enjoy watching wildlife in the evening. We saw a few deer and a fox! Our building was newly renovated on the outside and very nice. The staff was very friendly and we loved how everything we needed was included such as linens, dishes, cookware, dish detergent, toilet paper, etc. We will definitely book Barrier Island Station again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

DUMP on the Beach

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The bad out weighed the good so nothing.
Cons: Staff's answer to every problem was housekeeping and maintenance but when problems mount, offer customers a decent room. Clean up rooms between guests
Location: The location offers much better resorts than this one. Things to do -- find a better place to stay.
This was our worse lodging experience ever. There was black mold in the bedroom ceiling for which staff offered to send housekeeping. There were dead skin peelings on the sofa and food crumbs under the furniture that basic housekeeping should have cleaned. Red ants were snacking on the crumbs and eventually took over the living room. We vacuumed the carpet and maintenance brought an ant trap which seemed to make it worse. The towel rack fell after 2 hand towels were placed on it -- I reassembled it. There was a huge gap under the door to allow in critters. I could go on. When we asked for a decent room staff denied the request. We abandoned the room a day early with no refund and no satisfaction. Apparently, management doesn't care. Do not waste your vacation time and money staying at this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Wonderful hotel in a great area!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The location and price were amazing!
Cons: The place was a bit old, but we knew that going in. Still had an amazing time. Cell reception was poor so we relied on their very poor WiFi.
First time staying in Duck, NC and think we did great with this hotel. The place was nice. It was a bit dated but for the price it was an amazing deal. Parking was ample and the place was nice. We were also in the middle of everything, which was really convenient. We had a family of 5 and there was plenty of room to sleep and the place was large enough to escape when you needed to. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!!! Our biggest issue was poor cell service (not the hotel's fault). What the hotel COULD do would be to provide a more acceptable WiFi option (there's was very poor) so people can research local places/things to do.