Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Barrier Island Station. The apartments are very nice and reasonable even through the main season. There is a direct access to the beach. Also the sound with its beautiful walkway, stores, and restaurants is just a walk away. We definitely will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo complex next to beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Cons: Updating the indoor areas
Nice condo resort on the beach. They are updating the outside of the condos. The inside is the same but nice. For the money ,t I got a lot of room that i couldn't get in a regular hotel. The indoor pool and rec center is dated. The outdoor pool is great! Wish the snack bar has longer hours and was open on Sundays! I would go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Love the location, the price, the great view of the Sound and the short distance to the beach. The pools and hot tub were great. We just loved it!
Cons: The floors in the room were very uneven with a few soft spots that really need to be fixed. Also the couches were uncomfortable and worn.
Location: Being right in the center of Duck we were close to shopping, food, bars and activities on the sound. We loved parasailing!
We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids loved having their own rooms and the balcony views were awesome. We even got the chance to enjoy watching wildlife in the evening. We saw a few deer and a fox! Our building was newly renovated on the outside and very nice. The staff was very friendly and we loved how everything we needed was included such as linens, dishes, cookware, dish detergent, toilet paper, etc. We will definitely book Barrier Island Station again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

DUMP on the Beach

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The bad out weighed the good so nothing.
Cons: Staff's answer to every problem was housekeeping and maintenance but when problems mount, offer customers a decent room. Clean up rooms between guests
Location: The location offers much better resorts than this one. Things to do -- find a better place to stay.
This was our worse lodging experience ever. There was black mold in the bedroom ceiling for which staff offered to send housekeeping. There were dead skin peelings on the sofa and food crumbs under the furniture that basic housekeeping should have cleaned. Red ants were snacking on the crumbs and eventually took over the living room. We vacuumed the carpet and maintenance brought an ant trap which seemed to make it worse. The towel rack fell after 2 hand towels were placed on it -- I reassembled it. There was a huge gap under the door to allow in critters. I could go on. When we asked for a decent room staff denied the request. We abandoned the room a day early with no refund and no satisfaction. Apparently, management doesn't care. Do not waste your vacation time and money staying at this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nanci from Kitty Hawk

We'll Always Love BIS-Duck

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
A delight! Older condos, but clean and pretty. Pool still open, if you're brave! Beautiful beach, great restaurants, stunning sunrises and sunsets. No TV in the bedroom - This may be a plus for many ;-) Romantic way to start the New Year <3
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

What a dump!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Suite?? What a dump. Bed smelled horrible. Ceiling particles every where. Sofa sank to the floor when you sat on it.Every thing is way outdated. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Wonderful hotel in a great area!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The location and price were amazing!
Cons: The place was a bit old, but we knew that going in. Still had an amazing time. Cell reception was poor so we relied on their very poor WiFi.
First time staying in Duck, NC and think we did great with this hotel. The place was nice. It was a bit dated but for the price it was an amazing deal. Parking was ample and the place was nice. We were also in the middle of everything, which was really convenient. We had a family of 5 and there was plenty of room to sleep and the place was large enough to escape when you needed to. I'd definitely recommend this hotel!!! Our biggest issue was poor cell service (not the hotel's fault). What the hotel COULD do would be to provide a more acceptable WiFi option (there's was very poor) so people can research local places/things to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tommy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, NJ

Nice Location with some room for improvement.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Nice Location in an relaxing athmosphere and perfect area for a beach vacation.
Cons: Provide comfortable mattresses!
Location: Everything you may want to do when you stay at a beach hotel is there. Jet Ski, kite surfing, kajaking etc. and no huge hotel bunkers. :-)
We only stayed 3 nights and were happy to leave, just because of the back pain we had after those 3 nights in beds hard like stone and very uncomfortable. Everything else was fine. Rooms are clean, spacy, well equipped with furniture in good condition. The buildings are built in a resort kind of setup with outside grills and surrounding the indoor and outdoor pool. Outside of the property there are many little shops and good restaurants, all in a walkable distance. We checked in late at the security gate and were a little disappointed about the package prepared for us. We should have gotten 2 room keys, an activity schedule and a gate pass for the car but what we found in the envelope was only one key. Not a big Deal as we got everything but the second key next morning at the check in office. It would have been a 5 star if the beds wouldn't have ruined the nights and our backs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

The resort was unique.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: It was unique. It was comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: An updated television.
I enjoyed staying at the resort, everything was clean and well taken care of. Everyone was friendly. The only bad experience I had while staying there is the public drinking on the beach and at the gazebos leading to the beach. People were openly drinking. Other than that I had no complaints.