Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Thanksgiving on the Beach

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Location, location., location
Cons: Some of the interior furnishings are in serious need of being updated.
Location: Lotsnof great shops and nearby restaurants!
No better place to be than on the OBX for Thanksgiving, and even better being in Duck where I can walk to and on the Beach in a couple of minutes fro my condo!!!
4 out of 5
by David from DMV

Columbus Day 2015

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great location near Duck and right on the beach. Staff was nice and accomondating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at Barrier Island Station. The apartments are very nice and reasonable even through the main season. There is a direct access to the beach. Also the sound with its beautiful walkway, stores, and restaurants is just a walk away. We definitely will come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice condo complex next to beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Cons: Updating the indoor areas
Nice condo resort on the beach. They are updating the outside of the condos. The inside is the same but nice. For the money ,t I got a lot of room that i couldn't get in a regular hotel. The indoor pool and rec center is dated. The outdoor pool is great! Wish the snack bar has longer hours and was open on Sundays! I would go again!
5 out of 5
by Gene A from four oaks n.c.

just scouting out a vacation spot.

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
It was A Weekend Getaway To See If We Would Like To Go Back for A Week Long vacation, And We Definitely Will Go Back For A Weeks Vacation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Love the location, the price, the great view of the Sound and the short distance to the beach. The pools and hot tub were great. We just loved it!
Cons: The floors in the room were very uneven with a few soft spots that really need to be fixed. Also the couches were uncomfortable and worn.
Location: Being right in the center of Duck we were close to shopping, food, bars and activities on the sound. We loved parasailing!
We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids loved having their own rooms and the balcony views were awesome. We even got the chance to enjoy watching wildlife in the evening. We saw a few deer and a fox! Our building was newly renovated on the outside and very nice. The staff was very friendly and we loved how everything we needed was included such as linens, dishes, cookware, dish detergent, toilet paper, etc. We will definitely book Barrier Island Station again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

DUMP on the Beach

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The bad out weighed the good so nothing.
Cons: Staff's answer to every problem was housekeeping and maintenance but when problems mount, offer customers a decent room. Clean up rooms between guests
Location: The location offers much better resorts than this one. Things to do -- find a better place to stay.
This was our worse lodging experience ever. There was black mold in the bedroom ceiling for which staff offered to send housekeeping. There were dead skin peelings on the sofa and food crumbs under the furniture that basic housekeeping should have cleaned. Red ants were snacking on the crumbs and eventually took over the living room. We vacuumed the carpet and maintenance brought an ant trap which seemed to make it worse. The towel rack fell after 2 hand towels were placed on it -- I reassembled it. There was a huge gap under the door to allow in critters. I could go on. When we asked for a decent room staff denied the request. We abandoned the room a day early with no refund and no satisfaction. Apparently, management doesn't care. Do not waste your vacation time and money staying at this property.
4 out of 5
by Nanci from Kitty Hawk

We'll Always Love BIS-Duck

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
A delight! Older condos, but clean and pretty. Pool still open, if you're brave! Beautiful beach, great restaurants, stunning sunrises and sunsets. No TV in the bedroom - This may be a plus for many ;-) Romantic way to start the New Year <3
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a dump!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Suite?? What a dump. Bed smelled horrible. Ceiling particles every where. Sofa sank to the floor when you sat on it.Every thing is way outdated. Never again.