Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n.c.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Clean, breakfast was great
Cons: Have grits or oatmeal in the morning
Stay were very good. Room to close to the ice machine. Kept waking me up at 2 ,4 and 6 o'clock. Everything else were fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location and breakfast.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: New maid service and an update as to how to run a hotel.
Location: Restaurants abound. Kitty Hawk, fishing, piers and pubs. Shopping is also plentiful.
We have stayed here for four years in a row and unfortunately this is the first year that a few negatives emerged. Whereas most of the staff and breakfast people were grand as always, whomever cleaned our room, or should I say , half of our room, was obviously preoccupied with thoughts other than the task at hand. Also, the Sunday morning staff should get more of a clue how to cater to vacationers. I can understand wanting to flip rooms rapidly during the season. However,on a cold November 20th, to have a call at 11;02 asking when we are leaving, then having someone come knock on your door 5 minutes later, is uncalled for. Then, as we take our baggage to the car three minutes later, to already change the codes to our hotel door when we return for the rest our our things goes beyond being "efficient"! First time we have left with negative feelings and may be time to look for another hotel for next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: I liked the location. The suite was spacious and clean and had central heat and AC. Ocean front view.
Cons: Everything at the beach is rusty, including the door rollers to the balcony and closets. Rooms dated and could use a little love on things like doors.
Location: Locate in the middle of the Other Banks adjacent to the Wright Brothers Monument. Close to eating and shopping of all sorts.
Good location in the middle of the Outer Banks. Renovation around lobby affected arrival and departure but staff was friendly and efficient. Room was dated, but clean and spacious. All rooms enter from outside a mixed blessing. Great off season rates for a suite. Great free breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Large suite, great ocean view

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Very near the Wright Brothers National Park
Got an ocean view room/suite. (apparently oceanfront means a view of the dunes) Had a nice view of the ocean. Bedroom was a separate good sized room, small kitchenette, 3 sinks total in the suite. The living room was large with a queen sized Pullman. The room had a full wall of windows/sliding glass door overlooking the ocean, balcony. Wifi was fine. Breakfast was pretty good. Would really recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to relax

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Extra towels. Clean spacious rooms
Cons: More water pressure. Extra blanket for sofa
Location: On beach
Hotel is awesome. Only negative is low water pressure
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location close to shops & history

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance, but many places are closed in the fall/winter. Close to the Wright Brothers Memorial. Easy beach access.
The hotel is a bit dated on the outside, but I was pleased to see they had completed some renovations throughout the suite (new flooring, new furniture, new decor, some new wall paint, nice TVs). Staff was accomodating when switching to a higher floor (floors 1-2 have views of sand dunes, while floors 3-5 have ocean views). Breakfast was pretty good for a self-serve bar. I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit to Kill Devil Hills.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW Virginia

Oceanfront - Very Nice

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: No problems for us.
Location: Wright brothers memorial, wild horses up in Corral. Meneo island boardwalk. Very excellent food nearby.
When we arrived, our room was on the first floor. We were oceanfront but could only see the back of the dunes, no ocean view. I went to the front desk and they immediately changed us to a 5th floor room. The cost increase was only $25 more and was well worth it. So nice to see sunrise on the ocean. The free breakfast was very good. A lot of choices. A great stay for us. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Truly nice, for larger numbers

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Expansive, and ON the Ocean.
Cons: Make sure one can KNOW, when the housekeeping crew will arrive.
Location: The Outer Banks is great, and one can find your way ... here, anytime.
Wonderful place, even tho, as a single man, I should've found a place that was NOT a Suite. The Ocean Reef Suites are right ON, the Ocean side, and the rates are reasonable. The front-desk staff was very good, aside from an instance ... where the front-desk clerk accidentally, went into my Suite ... looking for someone else, undoubtedly. Anyway, this is one of the better of the many, in the OBX area, and it is worth investigating, for a short (or longer) vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Critical information!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
I booked an ocean view room. There is a difference between ocean view and ocean front. Expedia might say ocean view when it is actually an ocean front (ground floor, sand dune view). This was my case. Fortunately, the clerk had compassion and moved me from room 104 to 304 the second night. Call the hotel to make sure where you're staying. You have to be at least on the second floor to see the ocean. The living room is spacious, kitchenette perfect (fridge/microwave), bedroom has two beds, bathroom has a sink and then another inside the shower/toilet room. My niece had her two small children so the Murphy bed in the living room was perfect for them. Balcony has two plastic chairs and short little table for drinks. Breakfast had many choices: scrabbled or hard-boiled eggs, sausage or bacon, cereal, rolls, yogurt, fruit, etc. Nice view of the Wright Brothers Memorial--which is barely a mile away. Captain George's seafood buffet is less than two miles away. Great experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best stay.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
If you want to catch the sunrise at the beach you have to wait to get coffe for the continental breakfast it's not available until 7:00am. Also the elevator was broke so had to trek up and down stairs.