Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Beautiful view, clean, very comfortable. Would stay there again. Recommend to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Missed opportunities!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Beautiful inn with great views of the water. However, the experience could have been a lot better. Upon arrival (4pm) had to call for someone to check us in. Once she took us to our room, that was the last we saw or spoke to any staff member. We were disappointed that there was no beakfast served. Mini fridge in room would have been nice if bottled water and maybe cookies or fruit upon arrival. Room was nice, large and comfortable, but missing a few things. The tv was very small and could not be watched from the bed. As a safety issue, there wasn't a phone in the room either. Quality of towels and linens subpar for what we paid for our room. There was no one around to ask about the area and things to do. This could be a really nice inn if they paid more attention to detail and friendliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not what was advertised.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: Need a better description of the rooms/suites.
Location: Not much to do in Manteo. Nags Head is close by though with lots to do and see.
This was advertised as a suites hotel. When we checked in we were told that ours was a small room and not a suite. We were upgraded to a nice 3 room suite with a view of the water and a balcony. However this was for one night since it was booked for the next night. We were told that we could have that same suite for the next 2 nights of our stay. There were no other rooms available so we were moved back to our reserved room. This was just a room with a small kitchen and and a bathroom. There were no windows and only one chair. The next afternoon we came back to the hotel expecting to be in the large suite. We were not. We were told that the people in the suite wanted to stay another night. We left the hotel and got a room elsewhere. Be careful if you want to stay in this hotel. Make sure that you understand what you are getting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Burrus House Inn

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Great hotel. More like a B&B (except no breakfast) rather than a hotel. Very convenient to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay and are already making plans for next summer. Vickie (owner or manager) was very accommodating and most pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carla from Washington DC

Wedding

Posted Jun 17, 2013
It is a great place. A storm was predicted, the staff had an umbrella in the room for us, and also had flashlight in case of power outage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nancy from NC

Nice weekend get-away

Posted Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Water view, private balcony, upscale amenities, very clean and welcoming.
Cons: Squeaky, loud floors above us.
Location: Near downtown area of Manteo, great water views, easy to walk to restaurants and shops.
Wonderful inn with great water view. Very nice furnishings and comfortable bed. Nice added touches such as small kitchenette, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Easy walk to restaurants and shops. Only complaint was noisy neighbors above who started their days at 4:30 am. Squeaky wood floors above - you could literally hear every step- not especially welcome on Sat and Sun mornings!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre- Missing some key items

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: Setting, views, beautiful rooms
Cons: Service not good. Management did not take any accountability for errors on vacation reseller listing. No closet, no breakfast, no iron, no phone!
Location: Manteo is a tiny town in a beautiful place. Go there to really relax and leave stress behind.
First, let me say that this property is beautiful The rooms are spacious and lovely, and the setting is amazing. That said, there are some problems. The representation of the property and what is offered according to the vacation resellers like Expedia is not accurate. The managementy of Burrus House took no responsibility for the fact that certain amenities and benefits were listed on the site and were not actually offered (e.g. they do not offer breakfast, despite being a bed and BREAKFAST!). It was very difficulty to find an employee. We went the whole stay without understanding how to connect to wireless, or if that was even available or another error in the property listing. Additionally, neither room (our party had two rooms) had an ironing board or iron in it. Further, my lovely room did not have a closet. I had a stand-style coat rack to hang my items from!! Towels were threadbare, and bed linens were poor quality. Planking on decking is getting to the end of its life, and handrails on stairs are not particularly secure or comfortable to hang onto. These were items that would not be deal-breakers for me, but they were real opportunities to take the property to where it should be. One item that guests should know is that at least our rooms did not have telephones. If someone had an accident or incident, this could be a real problem. In the net, I would stay there again, but it seems a shame that I would be rating such a lovely place a 3.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxusappartement zum Relaxen

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Luxussuite mit tollem Ausblick aufs Wasser. 2 Balkons mit gemütlicher Sitzmöglichkeit. Voll eingerichtete Küchenzeile; Luxusbad mit Whirlpool; separater Dusche, zwei Waschtischen und eigenem Balkon. Sehr ruhig. Mehrere gute Restaurants in Laufentfernung. Unbedingt eines der besseren Zimmer nehmen, nicht alle haben den gleichen Ausblick.