Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton, NC

Too expensive

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The room looked nothing like the photo. It said there was a pool and hot tub in every room. Not sure what they were talking about. Maybe a hot tub but not a pool. But our room had neither. They had a restaurant on-site, yet breakfast was not included. They had no DVD player or even pay-per-view. I just expected a little more for over $200 a night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the main sites on Manteo.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Indoor pool ceiling needs painting. Pool is well maintained and has a nice workout area with machines and dead weights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older property with great potential but...

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Good proximity to the historic waterfront area.
Cons: The front desk staffer was quite rude. He bragged of his role with the Myrtle Beach Manor tv show and clearly thought this hotel was a similar gig.
Location: Lots to do! Elizabethan Gardens and the Manteo waterfront were my faves.
Our first night, we were put in a musty room, with the paint and plaster pealing off the wall. The room was clean but 'felt' dirty because of the smell and the eyesore of the peeling/bubbling wall. I complained about no hot water for shower the next morning and we were moved to a much nicer room, which was of the quality/cleanliness I had expected at this hotel. My biggest complaint is that we had booked this specific hotel so we could have a pool. The hotel, however, was leasing the pool out to a private entity (children's summer camp, or similar) daily from 10am - 3pm and the lessors would not allow hotel guests to use the pool. We were actually told to leave twice when we tried to use it. There was no mention of this when booking the hotel nor at check-in. When I complained on a particularly hot afternoon and we wanted to swim and cool off, I was told we should just use the pool earlier/later and that I wasn't paying anything extra for the pool and therefore, there wasn't a problem. The discussion became acrimonious and I was ultimately given a $50 refund towards our four night stay. Insufficient but, better than nothing. I'll not stay here again, that's for sure!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from williamsburg va

Posted Jul 5, 2016
My GPS said I was at the hotel even though it was a few more miles down the road. We called to get directions and the man on the phone was so rude. He even raised his voice. $200 a night was ridiculous for this dump. We couldn't even go to the pool seeing as checkin was at 3 and the pool closed at 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was good for the price.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: It was quaint and the indoor pool was great
Cons: air conditioning, staff phone etiquette, cleaning staff procedure when personal belongings are left
Location: Location is great. close to many attractions
Staff was courteous when we checked in. The pool was closed before 8pm when we arrived which was disappointing since we had been in the car for over 8 hours that day with children, a quick swim would have been nice. Room was clean and pool was great the next morning before we checked out. Our daughter left her baby blanket (which was very sentimental) in the room and when we called, the same day that we had checked out, they stated they had not found it. We know it was left on the bed yet after calling several times, they had not found it. So, either the room was not cleaned, or they just throw everything away and state they never saw it. It was not a fun way to start our vacation with my daughter in tears. Not sure how they could have missed it and they were not too thrilled about having to look. So, hotel is fine for the price but don't leave anything in the room and expect to get it back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota USA

Not worth it

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Cons: Cleanliness, odors, AC, access to room,
The photos of Elizabethan Inn looked good. Our room was in an annex, and from the odor of mildew/mold hadn't been used in a long time. The window couldn't be opened, so there was no way to air the room. BUGS!!! Had to run the AC which only made the odor worse. At check-in the manager warned us there would be no refund if we checked out early. Had to climb steep flight of 15 stairs to reach the room. No breakfast. Not worth the price, and definitely a low-end facility.
2 out of 5
by Lucas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by LIANGXIA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jason from Holly Springs

Terrible service.

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff very unhelpful when trying to adjust dates. Ended up not going.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Nice hotel with a huge pool

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Hotel staff was very accommodating our first night there; we arrived hours after the lobby closed and staff met us at the door just minutes after we called to tell them we were there. The room was nice and the pool was amazing, with a sauna and gym also available for hotel guests.