Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlisle.PA

Was a nice stay close to the beach

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Was a nice stay close to the beach very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice resort with OBX flavor.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great place to spend vacation or celebrate an anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Gracious resort on the ocean

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Having heard wonderful things about the Sanderling for many years, my expectation for my stay were high. I expected it to be worth the luxury rate. It was off season during bad weather, but a very busy Spring break week. The lobby was empty, and the front desk was unattended when we arrived, so I had to call out to get help. The young woman who responded was competent, but lacked the warmth we had experienced a few days earlier when we stopped in during a very busy time. There was no offer to help with luggage, nor did we see any such staff during our stay. But the rooms were spacious and lovely, and our "no view" room had a beautiful view of the dunes and grounds. The luxe bath and comfy bed were as hyped. The staff at the informal restaurant were wonderful - attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, and the food did not disappoint. The resort grounds were lovely, but not at there best - tire tracks through the front garden and a bit of trash near the pool. Another sign it was off season. I am a seasoned traveler, and I'm happy to pay more for luxurious accommodations and amenities. Overall, the Sanderling is a gracious place to enjoy the best of the OBX, but this time I was glad I had booked it at a discounted rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Maintenance of exterior grounds was not a 4 star rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

It was fabulous. It exceeded our expectations

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: It was on the beach. There were good restaurant options, the hotel had lots of the water activities available plus bike riding on the bike trails.
Fantastic. From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were at a luxury resort, which we were. From the Fruit infused water in the lobby, to the smores kit in the room for the evening fire, the adult pool, the food options, the staff. Everything was just stellar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

I really wouldn't change a thing. A+

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and cleanliness.
Cons: Soundproofing. We could hear the people above us.
Location: Everything you need is within 5 min drive.
We took our 10 month old baby and had an excellent time. The people were very friendly and everything was very clean. They were at full capacity and there was still extra parking everywhere and no aspect of the Sanderling felt crowded. We will be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful hotel, great restaurants friendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Wonderful experience. Beautiful beach, great restaurants. This was the friendliest and most helpful staff of any hotel I have ever stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Overpriced. Food was not good. Some very rude staff members. Restaurants on site but be prepared to wait 30min to an hour to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Meh.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice
Cons: Room cleaning & separate what is rented out. Feels super cheap when you pay for "x" and get "y"
Location: Eat, drinking, bbq is of course amazing. Beaches.
Had a good time, but was tremendously overpriced. Would not stay here again, room always seemed to have sand in it (even before we arrived). They also rent out other parts of the hotel (like a freaking bachelor party area) so enjoy the massive amount of noise you'll get from that until 2am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Posted May 20, 2015
The staff takes fabulous care of the guests. Restaurants are excellent. Quiet and clean with great dolphin watching.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Sanderling Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your return.