Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Nice hotel right on the beach However, They were painting and Main elevator and stairwell closest to our room was out of order making it difficult to load/unload items. The alternate elevator was extremely small making it very difficult to get to our room with our cart and luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

Best kept secret in OBX.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff! While not super fancy, it's clean, comfortable, and readonably priced! Great restaurant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Pretty good for a two star

Posted Feb 20, 2017
A little cleaner and newer than most two stars. Great off season rates. Would gladly stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Room smelled stale and smelled of cigarettes even though it was booked as a smoke free room. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
by Gregg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The employees were very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Hayden

Outer Banks Gem.

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Very clean with friendly staff and the Bistro Grill is a tasty place to eat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and great view

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Had a good stay just disappointed with the really small TV. Was hard to adjust for the family to all watch at once
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful, don't waste your money.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: It's close to the beach. The bartender and bar were a definite plus.
Cons: Offer a continental breakfast if you are no longer providing breakfast as a perk to staying there.
Location: Fishing on the Avalon pier.
First, let me say, I have visited this hotel, several times over the past 4 years, as I go to the annual oyster festival in Jarvisburg. On this trip, I was told by the front desk staff, that the breakfast was not included and had never been. As I had been there several occasions, I knew this was untrue. Finally this staff person, told me to check with the morning manager. Upon entering the room, a loud humidifier was running. I went back to the front desk to check on the reason for it being in the room, and I was advised, I could turn it off. Well of course I could, but I wanted to know if the room had a problem, as I am an asthmatic. I was then advised all of their rooms have had a humidifier for the past year or so due to humidity levels, huh? Yea, as if the shabbiness of the hotel was not enough, the staff were rude. When leaving the hotel for an outing, a male staff was at the lobby door, actually opening it and adjusting the rug in front of the door. As I preceded towards the door, the staff actually shut the door, and moved to the side of the door. I mean really? Also I was able to spend an extra day on my beach stay, however when I asked "Joe" the manager about adding another day, he advised me he had no way of knowing how much Expedia had charged for the room, so he could only give me their rate. Hey Joe, didn't you just run my card for the 2 previous days? I promptly went back to my room, got on the computer and added another night at the Sea Ranch for the much low
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the hotel and location. Had booked room with King bed but got one with 2 Queens.We were to tired to go back to reception and exchange. Will recommend hotel to friends.