Ratings based on 727 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel with beach access

Posted Jan 22, 2017
It's a good hotel. Great staff. Has direct access to the beach. Room was clean and comfy. Room access is outside which was not my favorite but might be good for some. Offers breakfast with a moderate choice of food (waffle maker, yogurt, bagels etc.) I'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Stacy , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shutters and we hope to see you again real soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: Coffee in room is AWFUL! Change brand used please! Breakfast bar did not have a lot of variety for a vegetarian. More options please.
This was our second stay at this hotel. Rooms are large and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Stacy , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a property review. We are glad that you enjoyed the room but sorry you did not like the coffee. We are working on evaluating the coffee and some other breakfast item options. We have had a lot of feedback on those areas and appreciate your input. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards, Stacy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Awesome stay at the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2016
My family and I stayed at Shutters over thanksgiving weekend. We got a beach side room. Nice and quiet. Staff is awesome . Stay and have fun. Call the hotel directly for booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Stacy , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the perfect score. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient. Friendly staff.

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Good points--the property overall was clean and the staff was pleasant, welcoming and helpful. Check in was easy. Breakfast was better than average. Great location. Bad points--the bed was hands down the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! My back is still in pain from it. It was absolutely awful and is the one reason why I would never stay here again. The room was fairly clean, although there was some hair on the bathroom floor from the previous occupants I noticed upon arrival. Gross!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for pointing out the helpfulness of the staff and the positive experience at breakfast. I'm so sorry that the bed was uncomfortable for you and that there were items overlooked in the restroom. Please know that is not the norm and we work to make sure everyone is happy throughout their stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice clean motel. Would stay there again.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice rooms
Cons: none noted
Location: Not familiar with the area. Was just passing through.
Only there for a short time. This was a good motel to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Stacy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean motel.

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very good motel for the value. Central location to Kill Development Hill area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are glad you enjoyed the property and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards, Stacy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
The room had a beachy feel and was clean and modern, but a little on the small and dark side. It didn't have a great view. The breakfast was okay. The location was close to shopping like CVS and Outlets and souvenir shops, as well as lots of restaurants that were average. Convenient location to explore all of the Outer Banks. Good off season location because things were still open. I would think it would be a busy and loud location in high season. Beach was pretty and quiet at the end of November.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to complete a review on our property. I'm glad to hear the your room was clean and you enjoyed our location. We have a wide variety of rooms types here at the property and would love for you to come back and experience a different room, still with that beachy feel but maybe a little more space and light and a great view of the ocean. Regards, Stacy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Room ...That smelled ...

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Room was dirty,,had bad smells ..microwave have curry smells,went to store to buy cleaning supplies...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was nice. People very friendly. But, found old food in room refrigerator and some very personal items in a draw that was not quite pleasing to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. I'm glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I do apologize about the items that were missed in your room I do understand that could be quite unsettling. But I assure you that are defiantly not the norm and hope that maybe you would come back and experience our property again. Regards, Stacy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, terrific location, view of the ocean, can walking out to the beach, indoor pool and hot tub, breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property. It seems that you really enjoyed it, is there something else that we could have done to earn a 5th Star from you? Regards, Stacy