Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great place

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Staff very very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous and comfortable room, pool amazing. Very close to beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We strive to be sure every guest has a positive experience while with us and it is nice to see our guests notice it. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great affordable beach hotel. Amazingly friendly hotel staff, super convenient beach access. Definitely and older beach hotel but clean with only minor disrepairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.We take a great deal of pride in our hotel and in the customer service we offer our guests. It is nice to see our guests notice. Getting 5 out of a possible 5 STAR rating speaks volumes about us. Thank you again Respectfully yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H, virginia

Nice stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Went for Father's Day weekend. Stayed overnight. We got there at 12p. Check in was at 4p. I was told I could use the facilities to change, use the pool and park. They called me to notify me room was available at 2p which was nice. The hotel is across the street from the public beach access, it's a easy walk. We were pool side. We didn't use the pool but looked nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The free breakfast was really good and nice variety of food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
I would like to start off by thanking you for such a lovely review. We strive to be sure every guest has a positive experience when here with us. We believe your vacation should start the second you get out of your car. So thank you for pointing out that we encouraged you to make use of the property when you arrived early. We are well aware that perspective guests often rely on the reviews of others when making there hotel choices- and it is clear to see from your review that this is the place they should choose!! Respectfully D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, close to the beach, good parking

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Solid good hotel for one night at nags head. Highlight is the nearby wild horse 4 wheel drive safari tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are proud of our nice little hotel and strive to insure every guest has a positive experience while with is-so it is nice to see we are hitting our mark. There are many great things to do in the area with the wild horse tour being one of them. The front desk has all sorts of personalized information for our guests. Thank you, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Niice hotel very close fo beach and resturants

Posted May 25, 2017
My stay here is satisfactory The room and service very accommodating. The beach is just a 15min drive and so much to nature in the area to enjoy. I would absolutely stay here in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by diana, Hotel Management
It is so appreciated that you took the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to insure every guest has a positive experience when staying with us-so I am glad to see that it is noticeable. I do want to just point out to others reading your review- we have a beach access directly across the street -100 yards from the front door. The beach you speak of is a bit more secluded and doesn't have lifeguards-but both beaches are excellent. We look forward to the next time you can join us for a getaway. Thank you, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Abeer

Great hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Travel lodge was great clean and comfortable. Close to the beach. As for hotels.com they need to make sure they know the hotel policy which they did not. The option where it says you won't be charged til you get to the hotel is false. The hotel policy is they charge you one night before the last day of cancellation. In our case was 3 days prior to our check in date. I was happy travel lodge had notified me and even called me about that. I appreciated that they were on their game and hotels.com didn't display accurate information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. 5 stars is a great testimony to our hotel.. We take a great deal of pride in our hotel so it is nice to see our efforts pay off. I am certainly glad the minor issues you encountered with your first night charge was addressed and that we were able to contact you. Unfortunately sometimes when booking a room the 3rd party sites do not take correct telephone numbers and it is really a vital piece of information on any reservation as you can see. We always recommend once you have secured your reservation with one of these booking sites you just go on and confirm everything with the front desk to be sure there are no unexpected surprises on your end. Thank you again for this positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us again on your next trip. Respectfully Yours, D.Lorditch Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Sydney

Excellent and Clean

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Travel Lodge - Nags Head was an excellent stay. I've read a few comments that said the beds were uncomfortable and that the rooms smelled bad. The beds were comfortable and the room smelled like a hotel at a beach. The rooms were clean but outdated. Does outdated counters really matter when you should be spending most of your time on the beautiful beach which is right across the street? The hotel is well situated to the beach, restaurants, bars, and the sites. The only thing within walking distance was the beach. The beach roads have no shoulder which would have made me hesitant to walk anywhere anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
It is always a pleasure to open up and find a positive and informative review of our hotel. We strive to keep our hotel to the very high standards we hold ourselves to. It is wonderful to see that our guests notice that. I appreciate you pointing out that the room was clean and even appreciate you comment on the outdated dresser. This is in fact one of the oldest hotels on the beach and we take a great deal of pride in how much we have renovated our property over the last few years. New carpeting, new bedding, new wall mount flat screen t.v's, new lighting, new accented wall treatment among many other updates. So for you to only have one small issue with an outdated dresser is just a great testimony to how modern and updated our rooms are. New dressers are actually on our "to do" list for the upcoming off season. We look forward to the next time you can come visit. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch,Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by April

GREAT TIME

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
I wish I could do 4/14/2017 over again! It was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
EXCELLENT!!! Short & sweet....and 5 stars says everything that needs to be said. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We certainly hope the next time you find yourself in the area you choose us once again. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch, guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us 4 out of 5 possible stars on your recent review of our hotel. We hope that the next time you find yourself back in the area you choose us once again. Thank you, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by Warren

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Booked through Hotels.com. Somehow I ended up being charged an extra $30 for my dog even though I was told that the hotel accepted pets i.e. the Hotels.com rate allegedly did not include the pets charge. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THIS. Couldn't just cancel the room as I didn't find out until I was checking in. And the fan did not work in the bathroom!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Guest Services, Hotel Management
While I am very sorry for your issue with your pet friendly room- What I am glad for is that you are giving me the opportunity to address it here. It is unfortunate that you thought you were booking a pet friendly room for your recent stay with us. Quite simply 3rd party booking sites do not have pet friendly rooms in their inventory. So your booking agent did not allegedly not include this rate-they actually would have no way to include the rate. What is fortunate for you is that we did indeed have a pet friendly room which we were able to switch you into. I am sorry that you were upset with the fee-but those rooms are charged at a higher rate than the non pet friendly rooms. If all of those rooms had been booked then it may have really posed a problem for you when you arrived with your pet. We have pet friendly rooms and we do not allow pets in any other rooms but those. I certainly can sympathize with your disappointment over charges you did not expect and would like to point out that we are also one of the only hotels here in the Outer Banks who do allow your 4 legged family member to be on vacation with you. As a good rule of thumb I always would recommend to any guest booking any kind of room that once you have secured that room with your 3rd party booking site you just give the hotel a call and confirm that you are getting exactly the accommodations that are necessary for your stay. I hope that in spite of your issues you were still able to enjoy your time on the Outer Banks. Respectfully yours, D,Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager