Ratings based on 1,109 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Staff was helpful.
Cons: The towels were always clean, but could have doubled as exfoliants!
Location: The beach is 100 yards away albeit across the street and many of our favorite restaurants are within minutes.
Breakfast and the bed were disappointing, but it was clean and well situated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible and it is through these reviews we can implement improvements when needed. Respectfully, D. Lorditch; Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The hotel is just across the street from a nice beach access. The room was fine, clean plenty of towels. Beds are ok but not great. Breakfast is not the best but very filling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thankyou for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing the Travelodge during your visit to the Outer Banks. It is always our goal to provide a clean and comfortable stay to all our guest. Our beds are Simmons Beauty Rest and the majority of our guest say they slept great. Our free continental breakfast is governed by the Travelodge brand and we do try to offer a variety of items so that there is something for everyone. We currently have 3 types of cold cereal, a variety of grits and oatmeal, 3 types of donuts, 2 types breakfast biscuits, waffles, 2 types of bagels, 2 types of bread for toast, 2 juices, milk, coffee and tea. I am sorry that we do not have a full kitchen on site and we are unable to provide a full breakfast. I hope you did find something you enjoyed out of our options. We do hope that you will stay with us again should you find your travels bring you back to our area. Thank you, Sherrie Cahoon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and convienent

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful review. Short and so sweet! We are glad your stay was amazing and we hope you come back and visit again very soon. This is exactly what we strive to hear from our guest! Sincerely, The staff at the Travelodge Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to give us this excellent rating of a perfect 5 STARS. We strive to be the very best we can and it is nice to see our guests not only notice but appreciate it. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, Sincerely, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

excellent stay for the Outer Banks

Posted Oct 27, 2016
everything you need in an excellent Motel you got it here. We would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a glowing review! It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time from their busy schedules to let others know they were satisfied enough with their stay to remark that they will come back again. The 4 STARS is also a great testament to our hotel. Until we meet here in the OBX again...Sincerely, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. I certainly wish we had some creative criticism to go along with your 2 star rating-that is how we see where we can improve on the services we provide to our guests. We strive here at the Travelodge to be the very best we can be and use both positive feedback as well as constructive criticism from our many guests to maintain the standards we hold ourselves to. Sincerely yours, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really a terrible experience.....

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Room was not clean and smelled bad!! Rooms are not nice.....Stay Away!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Travelodge Hotel, Hotel Management
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to write a review. It is through these reviews we use any constructive criticism to help keep the hotel up to the high standards we are proud of. I am not really sure how to reply to this very vague review. We keep an excellent log book at the front desk of any and all incidents reported by guests so that if there is an issue-we can reply with a researched answer. However during the time frame of your stay there are no complaints of a dirty room. I looked back in that log book 3 weeks prior to this review and do not see this complaint from any guests. On the contrary I have numerous reviews which commend how clean the rooms are. We certainly would want to know if a housekeeper is not doing a proper job, and I would think if you were in a dirty room you would have wanted the front desk to rectify that problem.I am also at a loss of response because you stated that you had a really terrible experience and yet you still gave us a 2 STAR score rating (rather than a lower score) I am truly sorry if you were not happy with our hotel and hope you were still able to enjoy your stay in the OBX. Respectfully, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
The property needs updating. The bathroom was clean but the tile was cracked and the grout was discolored. There was no information detailing tv stations or amenities or any information about the area. I was disappointed with this Travelodge as this chain is usually better than this. The breakfast was over by 9 AM which was a little early for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to review their stay with us. Upon check in at the front desk you are given a channel guide with your keys, I am sorry if the front desk neglected to give you one-and a simple call down to the desk would have rectified that issue. When you check in you are also advised where things are located in the hotel...."on the 2nd floor you will find racks with all kinds of information about the area". There is a staff member at the front desk around the clock available to help you with any thing you may need during your stay-is also something you are told upon check in. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay in our hotel and appreciate that you still were able to give us a 3 star rating. Sincerely yours, D. Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and friendly

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. First time staying here. Will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I personally feel that a hotel being clean and a friendly attentive staff are 2 very good as well as important qualities for a hotel to have. So it is appreciated you touched on those two points in your review. The fact that you felt you were able to give us a 5 STAR rating (the highest possible score) says a great deal in and of itself. We look forward to the next time you can join us again. Sincerely, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelled like wet dog and was not clean. This was my first time at a Travel lodge and probably my last
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sorry you weren't happy with your recent stay. The complaint you submitted is a complaint we have never encountered before, so quite frankly I am at a loss for a response to you. We are certainly sorry to loose your future business. Sincerely, D.Lorditch, Guest Relations Manager