Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Pip

Quiet stopover

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet stopover. Huge room. Great staff. Fabulous food.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, with unusually large rooms. Dinner was rather ordinary, but then we were both vegetarian and we may have caught the chef unprepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Character, friendly staff
Cons: Room decor is dated
Location: not too far from Alessandria
Unique facility Restaurant food and service was very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent property at very reasonable price

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent property, very attentive staff, decent restaurant (wines are a bit overpriced), quiet rural surrounding. Very pleasant stay overall.
4 out of 5
by Leslie from New Jersey

Beautiful castle in non-descript town

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful, in a castle. The hotel staff were kind and helpful, making a reservation for us at the 1-star michelin restaurant in town. We were in a room with more modern decor that seemed out of place in the old castle, but it was comfortable and huge. The only real downside is the location. Oviglia doesn't have much. So I would recommend staying here as a base for going out to wine country or a stop on a longer journey definitely, just not for a cute Italian country town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good for 1-night stay, without a wedding!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Staff, large room and bathroom.
Cons: Cleanliness, respect for guests needing a good nights sleep.
Location: It is too far from major attractions. The town does not lend itself to wandering around, enjoying cafes (there's only one), etc.
Stayed 4 nights, too long in such an isolated town with no local attractions. Staff were charming. Food was good. Room was huge. Bathroom was not well cleaned. Unfortunately, there were two weddings on successive nights, and the "music" (noise) went till 2am and was awful. We were given our last meal gratis in recognition of how disturbing the experience had been.
5 out of 5
by Lee from Chicago, IL area

Beautiful, but a little off the beaten path

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was magnificent and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The only drawback for those just passing through is that it is a little distant from the town of Alessandria (about 14 km) but their graciousness and the beauty of the facility and grounds quickly made up for that taxi ride. Everything was pristine and the restaurant was 5 star. I would go again but plan for a little more time to get to know the community.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A lovely overnight

Posted Aug 9, 2011 on Hotels
Got off a plane from NYC and needed to find a quiet place for our first evening. The hotel was small and the staff helpful. Had a great dinner in an intimate setting. Nothing much happening in the small town but he room was comfortable and air-conditioned and the food was great. Being in a small castle for the night was fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relais del Castello di Oviglio - a real castle

Posted Oct 13, 2010 on Hotels
Not easy to find - need a car to get there, a genuinely old castle - a little dark; huge clean rooms with modern bathroom equipment, some though already needs repair; good breakfast buffet, very friendly staff