Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2019
Room is very clean and comfortable, breakfast is unique (especially the fruits); staffs are very friendly and helpful! This is our second time staying here, leaving us for a very good memory of Oxford!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2019
Loved the food - such a great meal. Room had peeling paint and a cracked bath panel leaving a sharp edge. Table on the landing was also quite damaged. Left a feeling that the cost did not reflect the quality of hotel expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2019
Terrible room allocation. Room super hot, even after changing.Very small. Very poor value for money. Everything expensive and poor quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2019
Our room was in the ‘new wing’, which looked old outside but was fabulous and new on the inside! The building is kind of strange. Not all the floors meet up perfectly, but the rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Great bed, nice bathroom with a modern claw-foot bathtub. The shower stall was very small. Soap and shampoo in fancy dispensers. The restaurant has a great breakfast menu, and the buffet was filled with fresh, delicious items. The staff was friendly and helpful and made us feel pampered. I’d stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2019
Loved the rooms in the castle, roof top deck and excellent staff!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2019
Hot water is inconsistent in shower in 4 star hotel.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2019
Pleasant stay. Very central. Had to ask for shower cap and cream etc. Which was a pain as I feel it should be provided automatically. Hotel said parking provided on first come first serve basis but did not say it was chargeable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2019
We booked this hotel thinking it would be luxurious and a unique experiance. We were in England during their hottest day ever recorded. We checked the hotel website to make sure they had air conditioning, which the website said they did. Upon checkin, we were met with a wall of heat. They did NOT have air conditioning anywhere on the property. Our room had windows that could not be opened. It was at least 90 degrees at night in our room, which was pretty unbearable to sleep in. The only thing the staff could offer was water and a small fan. The woman at the front desk was able to refund one night, but quite honestly it was one of the worst hotel experiences we've ever had. Ths staff tried to accomodate as much as they could, but the designers and owners definitely did not think of guest comfort when they designed the hotel. Do NOT recommend spending luxury prices for a terrible hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jul 27, 2019
What a great place, the conversion of this old prison is amazing, the room was beautiful, friendly helpful staff. We had dinner at the restaurant which was also beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2019
Beautifully restored former prison. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Tasteful interiors. Nice staff. No air conditioning and cannot open windows, so can get rather hot and stuffy in summer.