Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Birthday Celebration

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: That is was close to Brookville Lake
Cons: A little better up keep of the grounds.
I have stayed with comfort Inns many times and was always impressed with cleanness and the out side appearance, well kept grounds and landscape. The grounds of this Comfort Inn had not seen any attention all summer. Weeds as tall as the shrubs, grass was going to seed. You could tell no one maintains the grounds for trash and debris. This was a family gathering and we had reserved 6 to 8 rooms in advance, I think we where the only one that did not have to change rooms. (I will state our room was very clean and was very comfortable.) Between the stink of smoke to the AC not working was a couple of the problems that was incurred. Staff was great, very friendly and accommodating to all problems. I do let one bad experiance effect my choice and will continue to use Comfort Inns in the future. L Buckner
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
I appreciate you letting us know about your stay at our hotel. I want to apologize for the issues that your group had during the stay, as well as the landscaping. We changed ownership a couple months ago and have been working on fixing the issues that you mentioned. Since your stay, we have replaced several of the air conditioning units in our rooms, and have ordered several spare units to have on hand as needed. We are also getting better chemicals for our ionizer to remove the smell from our rooms when guests smoke in them. If you were to come by the hotel today, you would not believe it was the same hotel that you were at just a few weeks ago. All of the weeds, shrubs, and all of the unsightly trees have been cut down and removed. We have planted several dozen new trees, including a half dozen beautiful Purple Japanese Maples, and others that are vibrant with different colors. We are also going to have a fountain out front. We have cleared out the tree line in the back and we are looking at adding picnic tables and barbecue grills for our guests enjoyment. I would love for you to stop by next time you are in the area and let us know what you thing about the changes, and to let me know what I can do to earn your business in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable bed, but not much more

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We're there for 5 nights. Ended moving three times. Toilet broke in first room, AC and toilet not working in Second room. Third was better. The pool and fitness area was O/S for maintenance no one let us know ahead of time. Ice machine on our floor O/S, juice machine for breakfast O/S only served warm juice and water. Elevator was filthy an other guest took it upon herself to clean the floor a bit. Manager was the least helpful of all the staff. But the bed was comfortable so that helped and they did move us as needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are under new ownership and working towards fixing the issues that you mentioned in your rooms. I apologize about the pool and fitness room being out of service during your stay. We announced on all of the available websites that the pool would be out of service during our renovation, it is scheduled to be reopened next week. The new treadmill for our fitness center is scheduled to arrive at the beginning of the week as well. We have a new ice machine for the third floor, It was delivered a few days ago and will be professionally installed on Wednesday. We ordered new coffee and juice machines for our guests. Unfortunately there was a defect in the juice machine that caused a critical part to fail about a week after the machine arrived. We have already received the new machine and it is working perfectly. I would like to apologize if you found me to be the least helpful of all the staff, I am working around the clock with our vendors and contractors in order to get new equipment as soon as possible, as well as scheduling the renovation projects to run as smoothly as possible. Thank you again for letting me know about your stay, please feel free to contact me directly next time you are in the area so that I may personally see to it that your stay is exceptional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Customer service?

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Called prior to our arrival to confirm our adjoining rooms since we have 4 kids. Turns out they do not have adjoining rooms but never bothered to mention that. When we finally spoke to the manager he said he would give us a discount and email our revised receipt to us. Still waiting for that email...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We have sent the email a couple of times with the discounted receipt. Please check your spam folders and if you haven't received it please give me a call.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from geneva illinpis

Minor issues

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The staff were helpful & friendly. The light in my room was burned out, the hallway had a leaking roof & the stairwell was quite dirty ( dead bugs & dirt).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at our hotel. We are under new ownership and are renovating all of the rooms and and in the process of getting the roof replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs maintenance

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Carpets were worn and dirty. Floor of elevator was sticky. Stairwells were dirty. The breakfast was always out of a number of the food and drink items, and nobody seemed to be monitoring it. I had to track people down for coffee, milk, yogurt, waffle batter, biscuits, etc. They were just plain out of some of the basic items they're supposed to have for breakfast. There were also weeds in the flower beds. Not a well run operation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
We are under new ownership and have restaffed the hotel to proper levels, we have just shampooed and steam cleaned all of our carpets, as well as detailed the stairwells. We are currently in the middle of a massive renovation project that will be updating all areas of the hotel. We are also getting groundskeepers to keep the flower beds and outside areas maintained properly. We look forward to you staying again with us and seeing all of the changes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got me in quick.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Was very nice. Nice beds. Pillows were soft. Good Tv. Very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We appreciate your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Don’t recommend to stay. They took my stuff without my consent! Because there was no refrigerator and the weather was hot, I put my pizza (in box), rice (in box, I hadn’t opened yet) and another left over dish neatly on the window sill close to AC vent. When I was back, they were all gone! However, they did not take used cups, they were still on the table. I know how to keep room tidy by throwing unwanted things to trash can! I don’t need someone to take away food which I intended to keep. By the way, WIFI signal is bad in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for...

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Usually stay at Hampton Inn for short personal trips like this, but it was almost half the price and I decided to save the money. Everything about the room cried out 'budget-scale' - not horrible, but still felt I overpaid for what it was and probably wouldn't have stayed there if I was going to be there more than 1 night. The room seemed clean though one look at the complimentary breakfast was enough for me -- especially since the coffee they had out was room temperature at 8am. So yes, you'll save a little money, but temper your expectations. Not sure I'd go back.
5 out of 5
by Ed

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great Value, good Location, great rooms!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Picking up son from college.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Clean room
Cons: Consistant staff
Location: Close to sons college.
Usually the stay is great. this time was not, as the hotel is undergoing staff changes. Past Mgr left unexpectedly and is being run by corporate fill ins by the day. Staff was great BUT facility was a mess. None professionally dressed but they treated me great so not very important. The paneling was tore off in elevator and floor in elevator was very dirty and muddy till 2nd day when I mentioned it. Microwave broken in room, channels didn't match programming on TV, (They brought me a new list). Bed was great and room was clean. Which is most important to me. Breakfast: E muffins were stale and fruit old starting to dry out. Prepackaged creamer was curdled (was dated properly not hotel fault.) Removed creamer immediately. This is my third stay in 6 months no previous complaints but hotel could be disaster if corporate does not get a quick handle on situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey in regards to your stay at our hotel. We are working to fix and improve the areas that you mentioned. We are working with our cable provider to get accurate TV listings on their channel guide, we are doing repairs to the elevator to fix the damage inside of it. And I have checked with our creamer supplier to find out why the creamer that they had just dropped off was curdled. Thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention. Sincerely, John Roberts General Manager