Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Nice hotel close to town centre.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Welcoming and friendly staff. The hotel is only a short walk from Oxford town centre and is on main bus routes. Free private car park, a real bonus. Our room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Lovely ensuite. We ate out so can't comment on the cuisine but there is a restaurant if needed. There's also a small bar area with an outside courtyard too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley, CA

Nice hotel away from the bustling town center

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Quiet, convenient, decent room.
Cons: For my diet, more low-carb and protein options at breakfast
Location: Close to Oxford town, but far enough away to drive in and out easily for other sightseeing without getting stuck in the town traffic.
This is a small, quiet hotel about a mile's walk (or bus) from the crowded and crazed Oxford town center. They have their own on-site parking lot and a restaurant, which is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Reasonably priced hotel in good location

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The rooms are clean and the staff is excellent. The location is good -- in a relatively quiet, tree-lined neighborhood that is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Oxford. The hotel is simple and has a certain charm. It is reasonably priced for its location. The walls in the standard rooms are quite thin. I understand that the upgraded rooms (which are in a different part of the hotel) are quieter. There is a nice bar and a cozy sitting room. There are fancier hotels in Oxford, but this is a good value and a fine choice for families or travelers who want to pay less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Small housekeeping issue

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great Hotel, not as impersonal as most, just a small housekeeping issue, lightbulb didn't work in the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok hotel but expensive

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room Friendly and helpful staff Parking Coffee shops across the road
Cons: Noisy doors. You can hear the doors in the rooms slamming all nght long. The hotel should invest in silent closing doors. The TV didn't work at first
Hotel is around a 15 walk to the centre of Oxford. Positives Comfortable room Friendly and helpful staff Parking Coffee shops across the road Negatives Noisy doors. You can hear the doors in the rooms slamming all nght long. The hotel should invest in silent closing doors. The TV didn't work at first. We told reception and it was fixed by the time we got back, but only two channels were working. We were in the room next to the cleaner's closet so we could hear people talking late at night. Normally things like this wouldn't bother me but for the expensive price I'd expect better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oxford hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Nice hotel, not much impressed with the manager, for a similar situation other hotels handled the request much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It was a pleasent experience. Clean and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Great hotel close to the city centre

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience for the city and the staff
Cons: Air con in the rom
Location: Punting, walks in the park and shopping in the city
Had an excellent welcome from the staff. The hotel is really clean and tidy and well presented. We stayed in the courtroom suites at the rear which were beautiful. The only let down was no aircon and the weather was really hot which did not help. However I would recommend the hotel overall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Needs Work.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great staff and breakfast. Damp smell in main corridor as well as rooms. Needs updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location - no A/C

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was excellent and included with our room. Onsite parking was very convenient. Also, very helpful staff helped carry our bags.
Cons: More light in the Balliol suite. Portable air conditioning for extreme heat conditions.
Location: Less than a mile walk into Oxford center. Eagle and Child pub a short walk away. A nice locals pub a few hundred yards away on the same street.
The hotel would have worked perfectly for us but for the heat wave passing over Oxford. The location less than a mile from the center of Oxford and the onsite parking made it very convenient for our visit. Because there were 3 of us (two adults and our 11 year old) we were booked into a suit on the top floor of the hotel. The room as spacious, but quirky with beams descending in the middle at odd angles. It was a very nicely appointed room but was unbearably hot. There were only two very small windows in the room and were were offered but one single desktop fan for our stay. We asked for and received another but the room was oppressively warm until the middle of the night. There's obviously nothing the hotel could have done about the heat wave but they could have offered more options for cooling the room. There are portable air conditioning units that could have been easily acquired and offered for this situation and for the very high prices charge, should have been available. Otherwise, the hotel was very nicely appointed but looking a little worn. We would likely look elsewhere for a better value when we return to Oxford.