Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Nice hotel and grounds, very bad service!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The grounds and rooms
Cons: Most things about the service here it’s awful
Would never recommend or stay here again. Bad service Rushed spa treatments Unable to seat us for dinner Bar food not fully cooked Not all but most staff very unfriendly and unhelpful Terrible experience here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham

one night birthday treat

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Location: River trip from Folly Bridge which was very enjoyable.
Excellent hotel, room and meal in dining room and breakfast next morning. Only small criticism was slightly excessive use of vinegar in doing poached eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I stayed for a couple of nights, while on business. The staff were friendly and welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, setting, location great

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: We were in ground floor room, designed for the disabled ( we are not disabled) therefore the sink in bathroom was low, however understandable.
Location: Son at Oxford university ideal for visit/drop off! Combinded visit to Blenhiem Palace. Travel,Yorkshire to Portsmouth regularly perfect overnight stay
Setting lovely by the river. Room very good, staff courteous and obliging. Used bar for evening meal excellent value and presentation. Breakfast choice wonderful, room perfect and welcomed sofas to relax after whilst reading newspaper. Spa and gym facilities perfect. Will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great countryside hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Really enjoyed the location outside the city. Plenty of space and good and service excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel looks nice, but is dated and poor bar food

Posted Oct 4, 2017
A flashback to the 1980s and a Berni Inn - beautiful building, large rooms, awful food at the bar - deep fried battered bean burger, sad steak pie. Could be so much more. Great location by the Thames - 10-15 mins from Oxford
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable resort near town

Posted Oct 3, 2017
I enjoyed my short stay at this resort on the near outskirts of Oxford. I didn't get to enjoy the amenities but wish I had. Room was perfect and comfortable albeit a touch hard to find the first couple of times. Lots of interesting sitting areas sprinkled throughout the confusing corridors! Lovely grounds and modern facilities. Would come again.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, very comfortable rooms, very clean, a great base for exploring Oxford
5 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, over priced booking in advance

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: staff bit grumpy at breakfast
Location: pub on the river nearby is good and good VFM
Easy check in, lovely grounds, clean, loads of fast hot water. Very relaxing, just a bit too pricey