Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, over priced booking in advance

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Cons: staff bit grumpy at breakfast
Location: pub on the river nearby is good and good VFM
Easy check in, lovely grounds, clean, loads of fast hot water. Very relaxing, just a bit too pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco , ca

Charming hotel with good facilities, good service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: its beauty, location and great breakfast
Location: close to Oxford
accommodated handicapped person with appropriate room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nEW yORK

High quality hotel outside Oxford city centre

Posted Jul 5, 2017
De Vere Oxford ( also formerly known as Four Pillars) is located several miles outside of Oxford's centre. The rooms are all very modern and very clean. Breakfast is a buffet which is very good and you can order additional items from the kitchen without charge. Since I was on a cycling vacation I was without a car and decided to dine twice for diner which was excellent both nights. The grounds are country like and abuts a river. Seemed like there was ample parking for all guests. I would recommend staying here. FYI there is a sister hotel closer to the centre if this is a concern
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
From when you drive up to the hotel, you get a sense the quality you come to expect from the De Vere Oxford London. Well manicured gardens & parking is well placed. The room was a good size with patio doors & a little patio with wrought iron table & chairs, modern, very clean & tidy, only concern was no air con, which wouldn't have been an issue, usually, but we were having a mini heatwave & the fans supplied were not quite enough, (they were very quiet though, so ok to have on all night). Couldn't work out how to get water out of the main shower head, so used the smaller one which was freehand instead, (even after asking at reception, must have had a different model from the one they told us about, as had no leaver or pipe to pull out), we were only there two nights so coped ok. Food was beautiful & service was impeccable. Very quiet situation, on the bank of the Thames with plenty of ducks & geese. Only a five minute drive to a park & ride site, then only a ten minute ride into Oxford itself, so much quicker than the usual bus route of 28 minutes. If in Oxford again would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On The Thames

Posted Jun 27, 2017
In the heart of the countryside. Large and beautiful grounds. Ideal for folks with a car. However there is an excellent taxi service to center of Oxford for a fixed 10 pound price.
5 out of 5
by Keely

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by john

Oxford De Vere - Business

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, quiet comfortable room, good food, good service, good facilities. Ecerything you'd expect from a De Vere / Principal property.
5 out of 5
by Melissia

Stay here now

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
This place is gorgeous! Amazing! I can't give it 5 stars because the pool deck and leisure center changing rooms were dirty. Otherwise, perfection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff and service exceeding expectations

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The staff
My husband and I stayed at this hotel 17-19 May and were greatly impressed by the hotel and in particular the staff and service they provided at this property. From the moment we were checked in by Erica and checked out by Nimisha the service was flawless. Every staff member was immaculately groomed and excellent ambassadors for the hotel. We were at the end of a ten day driving holiday around England and the staff, service and food at this property was of an excellent standard. Having worked in Hospitality and Tourism for many years I can appreciate the effort it takes to make service appear 'effortless' and I applaud the manager of this property for maintaining a high standard of excellence across all departments. Highly recommend to all.
5 out of 5
by John

Excellent

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Our one night stay was excellent, could not fault, only down side was that we did not stay more than one night. Will look forward to returning.